We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Room at The Sanctuary

Ocean Room at The Sanctuary
1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
+1 843-768-6253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $90
Cuisines: Sushi, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Ocean Room, Kiawah Island Golf Resort's premier Forbes 4 Star and AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, offers an unparalleled steakhouse experience, featuring a variety of signature dishes. The Ocean Room culinary team is committed to supporting local farmers by utilizing locally sourced beef, seafood, poultry and produce when writing their seasonally changing menu. Complementing Chef Jason Rheinwald's cuisine is Wine Spectator's "Best Of" Award Winning Wine Program, enticing to the most discriminating oenophile. With over 1000 selections The Ocean Room strives to showcase the characteristics of the world's finest varietals, regions, growers, and producers. A Forbes 4 Star and AAA 4 Diamond restaurant. "Best of Award of Excellence" 2010/2011 by the Wine Spectator.
Carolina shores NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Service was excellent as well as the food. The menu matched our needs,the portions were fine, but overpriced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    22
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Can you say special....?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my mothers 75th birthday and it was just perfect. The service was not only good it was sincere. They made her feel like the special person that she is. The filets were very tender and my NY strip was just how I liked. The wine list is expensive but wonderful and fitting for a special occasion. Bravo Ocean team.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great five course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very fancy, loved it , romantic for birthday dinner. Excellent food, cheese plate, beautiful ocean view. On par with some great NTYC restaurants I've been too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perfect meal. Not inexpensive but worth it. Our waitress Alexa was superb. Great wine list. Setting. Service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Summer Tasting Menu is Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My dad treated my friend and me to dinner at The Ocean Room on our vacation in July. We were seated with Alex, who is by far the best server I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The staff at the Ocean Room is always first class. The food was amazing. The view was perfect. We were seated in the corner with a view of the lawn and the ocean and a family of deer came out on to the dunes just as our third course was arriving. (I'm not sure how they planned that part...:) From the sparkling wine we were served upon seating to the tiny macaron with my after-dinner tea, everything Was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Room at The Sanctuary also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ocean Room at The Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Room at The Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.