We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say special....?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Room at The Sanctuary

Ocean Room at The Sanctuary
1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
+1 843-768-6253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $90
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Ocean Room, Kiawah Island Golf Resort's premier Forbes 4 Star and AAA 4 Diamond restaurant, offers an unparalleled steakhouse experience, featuring a variety of signature dishes. The Ocean Room culinary team is committed to supporting local farmers by utilizing locally sourced beef, seafood, poultry and produce when writing their seasonally changing menu. Complementing Chef Jason Rheinwald's cuisine is Wine Spectator's "Best Of" Award Winning Wine Program, enticing to the most discriminating oenophile. With over 1000 selections The Ocean Room strives to showcase the characteristics of the world's finest varietals, regions, growers, and producers. A Forbes 4 Star and AAA 4 Diamond restaurant. "Best of Award of Excellence" 2010/2011 by the Wine Spectator.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can you say special....?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my mothers 75th birthday and it was just perfect. The service was not only good it was sincere. They made her feel like the special person that she is. The filets were very tender and my NY strip was just how I liked. The wine list is expensive but wonderful and fitting for a special occasion. Bravo Ocean team.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    29
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great five course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very fancy, loved it , romantic for birthday dinner. Excellent food, cheese plate, beautiful ocean view. On par with some great NTYC restaurants I've been too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perfect meal. Not inexpensive but worth it. Our waitress Alexa was superb. Great wine list. Setting. Service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Summer Tasting Menu is Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My dad treated my friend and me to dinner at The Ocean Room on our vacation in July. We were seated with Alex, who is by far the best server I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The staff at the Ocean Room is always first class. The food was amazing. The view was perfect. We were seated in the corner with a view of the lawn and the ocean and a family of deer came out on to the dunes just as our third course was arriving. (I'm not sure how they planned that part...:) From the sparkling wine we were served upon seating to the tiny macaron with my after-dinner tea, everything Was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A first class dining experience right in the hotel. Great food, excellent wine list, great dining room. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Room at The Sanctuary also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ocean Room at The Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Room at The Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.