We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Room at The Sanctuary

Ocean Room at The Sanctuary
One Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-6253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Forbes 4-star/AAA 4-Diamond Ocean Room at Kiawah Island Golf Resort specializes in an unparalleled steakhouse experience. Chef Nathan Thurston and team have sourced the finest meats obtainable from artisan and local cattle ranches. Dishes include both wet and dry-aged grass-fed steaks and chops as well as items for the non-meat eater. The décor reflects a classic “steakhouse” ambiance including the elegant lounge furnished in mahogany and leather to enhance this incomparable oceanfront dining room.
Westchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perfect meal. Not inexpensive but worth it. Our waitress Alexa was superb. Great wine list. Setting. Service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    81
    16
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Summer Tasting Menu is Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My dad treated my friend and me to dinner at The Ocean Room on our vacation in July. We were seated with Alex, who is by far the best server I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The staff at the Ocean Room is always first class. The food was amazing. The view was perfect. We were seated in the corner with a view of the lawn and the ocean and a family of deer came out on to the dunes just as our third course was arriving. (I'm not sure how they planned that part...:) From the sparkling wine we were served upon seating to the tiny macaron with my after-dinner tea, everything Was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A first class dining experience right in the hotel. Great food, excellent wine list, great dining room. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine night at dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff, from the greeter, to the server, to the ancillary staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We had an excellent experience, approaching a pampered feeling.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were very disappointed in our dinner at the Ocean Room. We were looking forward to a special evening out, celebrating our 20th anniversary. It was anything but special. We felt like we were ignored. The food was just mediocre, the service was poor, the price was very expensive and it was by far the worst meal we had on our weeks stay at The Sanctuary.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Room at The Sanctuary also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ocean Room at The Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Room at The Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.