We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gary Player Course Worth Trying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cougar Point

Cougar Point
1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, The Sanctuary, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843 266 4020
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Gary Player Course Worth Trying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I really enjoyed this course. The layout is a contiguous 18 without a clubhouse turn. But you don't miss it one bit. Generous forward tees for the ladies, and lots of wildlife to see...gators, herons, osprey, and a variety of dogs. You skirt the marsh and there's plenty of ponds and lagoons but play smart and you'll have a great round. I sure did!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great day of Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband golfed here October 2013. It was a beautiful course in a beautiful place. He is looking forward to playing there again in January.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great course for a Back 18”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After finishing the Ocean Course, we headed over for another 18 at Cougar after a recommendation from the caddies. The staff at Cougar was fantastic, and wanted to know the caddies' names so they could thank them. The course is a pretty typical resort track. There are a few memorable holes, but it was nowhere near the mental challenge as what we faced on the beach. It was just enjoyable.

Our replay rate was only $75, and well worth it. Cougar was in great shape, and presented a fun challenge for all of us. It's not a 5-star course, but if you're looking for golf on the island, this is a good bet. We enjoyed it. I do suggest playing in the afternoon- we teed off at about 3:00 and had the entire course to ourselves for the entire 18 holes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great golf day at Kiawah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't played at Cougar point in a few years mainly due to the cost. All the courses at Kiawah are pretty pricey but my partners and I had a coupon so what the heck. Cougar was always a nice layout but it is truly in spectacular condition now. Greens were just perfect. It was nice to get friendly service as well. Sometimes at the exclusive resort courses, the staff can be rather self important; not here. Everybody was great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great underrated course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a nice tract
Very playable but errors will bite you.
Take a caddie over a cart.
The heat was a bit overwhelming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cougar Point also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cougar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cougar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.