We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day of Golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cougar Point

Cougar Point
1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, The Sanctuary, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843 266 4020
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Attraction Details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great day of Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband golfed here October 2013. It was a beautiful course in a beautiful place. He is looking forward to playing there again in January.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great course for a Back 18”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After finishing the Ocean Course, we headed over for another 18 at Cougar after a recommendation from the caddies. The staff at Cougar was fantastic, and wanted to know the caddies' names so they could thank them. The course is a pretty typical resort track. There are a few memorable holes, but it was nowhere near the mental challenge as what we faced on the beach. It was just enjoyable.

Our replay rate was only $75, and well worth it. Cougar was in great shape, and presented a fun challenge for all of us. It's not a 5-star course, but if you're looking for golf on the island, this is a good bet. We enjoyed it. I do suggest playing in the afternoon- we teed off at about 3:00 and had the entire course to ourselves for the entire 18 holes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great golf day at Kiawah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I hadn't played at Cougar point in a few years mainly due to the cost. All the courses at Kiawah are pretty pricey but my partners and I had a coupon so what the heck. Cougar was always a nice layout but it is truly in spectacular condition now. Greens were just perfect. It was nice to get friendly service as well. Sometimes at the exclusive resort courses, the staff can be rather self important; not here. Everybody was great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great underrated course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a nice tract
Very playable but errors will bite you.
Take a caddie over a cart.
The heat was a bit overwhelming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Track with Good Shot Variety Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall excellent golf course and it was quiet on the afternoon I played. Played solo (after a bit of dialogue with the pro shop - they wanted to pair me up given the potential rush of players) and completed the round in about 3 hours.
5 sets of tees for all player abilities and the tees are laid out fairly to the respective ability of players (carries, angles, etc.)
Greens were in outstanding shape and down hill puts are faster than they look and uphill puts are slower than they look. Overall course condition was outstanding and significant efforts were still underway to maintain the course.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cougar Point also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cougar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cougar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.