We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachwalker Park rocks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwalker County Park

Beachwalker County Park
Beachwalker Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-2395
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, Beaches
Attraction Details
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beachwalker Park rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visit Beachwalker Park to soak up the sun, laze in the sand, and walk the beach. There isn't a great deal of parking, so don't wait to arrive, get there early! If you venture down the beach towards Seabrook Island, you may even get to experience one of nature's most amazing sights: dolphins strand feeding If you are lucky, you will watch as they herd fish into a circle, then they will "beach" and grab the fish from the shallow water and the edge of the shore. It is a spectacular sight, and one that happens only a few special places on planet Earth (so says Animal Planet).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First things first, get here early so you don't have to fight to get a parking spot or run the chance that they'll run out of rentable chairs and umbrellas. The water isn't clear by any means, but it is wonderfully warm and calm and not very deep. It's one of the cleanest beaches I've ever come across, even with all the dogs that frolic on the beach with their owners. There is a wonderful concession stand and great bathrooms and changing facilities. A definite must visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to visit the ocean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great way to go to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and for a small parking fee you can be at a very clean, large beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Was Not My Kind of Beach!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

You know the great thing about a great beach. It is the beautiful and blazing white powder sand that is fluffy like talcum powder. It is also the turquoise or crystal clear waves that let you see all the way to toes in even when the water is at shoulder levels. You can see the schools of small shimmering fish dart away as you part the seas in slow motion. The palms create a gorgeous shelter that keeps the hot sun off of your head. Beachwalker County Park and beach, well, it is NOT that!

What you will find is a wide beach with dark, grayish sand so flat and hard near the water's edge, that you might think you were walking on pre-cured concrete. The tires of the cyclists who were cruising the beach barely left a tread mark. The umbrellas inserted into the ground all has the burrowing spike accessory that you have to screw into the sand. The water was a brown, brackish variety inundated with soil so thick that you really couldn't see through it as the small waves broke across the land. Also there was a foam that curled up at the leading edge of the waves, almost like a chocolate latte. As much as I wanted to I just couldn't go into that water.

I was afraid to stand still for very long on the beach sand, becayse sand flies (they sting) kept biting me

The park itself though was very nice, with a smallish parking lot, a showering area surrounded by the tree growth, a walking path to the beach and restroom facilities that could use a little modernization. Getting from the parking lot to the beach was a task, no not because of the short distance, but because the mangrove shrubbery was inundated with circling love bugs landing on you. (Note) love bugs are seasonal though.

Let me be fair! Beaches are what you are use to and I'm use to the white powder beaches of the west coast of Florida or the light brown shell/sand beaches of the Miami area. So a darkish, murky beach like this is not appealing to me.

However, what I did like about it was the people. All of the other visitors whether on bikes or under umbrellas were friendly and spoke to you. The beach is peaceful also, and there are no buildings or vacation homes crowding it, which I liked. If you brought up near this kind of beach, you may rate it highly.

Location: About 45 minutes from Charleston Airport and the road actually going to the beach is very nice, with a mixture of homes from low to high income, neighbor to neighbor. It looked like a place where the folks know each other.

BYOF: There were no stores very close to the beach, so bring your own food. Oh the cost to get in is $8 per car.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We made a day trip from Mt. Pleasant. Everyone in the family loved the beach. It was clean, the water was warm, and the parking situation is well organized. We didn't venture out too far from the main part of the beach, but I was told that 15 minutes away, we could have seen a lot of aquatic life.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachwalker County Park also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beachwalker County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwalker County Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.