We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwalker County Park

Beachwalker County Park
Beachwalker Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-2395
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We made a day trip from Mt. Pleasant. Everyone in the family loved the beach. It was clean, the water was warm, and the parking situation is well organized. We didn't venture out too far from the main part of the beach, but I was told that 15 minutes away, we could have seen a lot of aquatic life.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    15
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited for the day from Charleston and it was wonderful. There is a changing area and outdoor showers as well as a small snack bar. The beach was clean and beautiful. The waves were small and perfect for young kids or those who are worried about strong currents. You can rent umbrellas from the lifeguard for 10 dollars and parking is around 7 or 8 I think. If you plan to park at the public beach access go early as we heard that spaces really fill up (especially on the weekends) by noon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dolphins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

One of our favorite things that we did on our trip to Kiawah was walking one day and riding bikes another day to the mouth of the Kiawah River at Beachwalker Beach. If you go during low tide, you will see dolphins strand feeding. It is an amazing sight to see. Definitely go, but be respectful of the dolphins and stay back from the river bank. When we were there, an ignorant group of people walked to the rivers edge to get a closer look and the dolphins swam away.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best beach in Charleston area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This beach is a little out of charleston. There is a $8 parking fee. Picnic tables available in parking area. Small snack bar. Outdoor shower. Changing area and bathrooms. You can rent chairs and umbrellas. We walked along this beach and found lots of creatures in tide pools-starfish, conch, class, horse crabs, other crabs. Dolphins swimming off the shore. It was a great place. We were there in May so it was not busy. Family oriented beach. Bring sunscreen!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bring your sunblok and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great beach!
I believe our entry fee was $8 for a carload. There was a clean bathroom, changing rooms and a small snack bar.
The snack bar provided a tasty snack and a cold drink. We also liked the fact chairs and umbrellas were available for rent --$25 for 2 chairs & 1 umbrella. The beach was clean and the water was warm and also very clean. Many singles, families with children and older folk enjoyed. I've been to many, many beaches - this is the near the top of my list!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachwalker County Park also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beachwalker County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwalker County Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.