We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your sunblok and relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwalker County Park

Beachwalker County Park
Beachwalker Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-2395
Update attraction details
Type: Parks, Beaches
Attraction Details
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bring your sunblok and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great beach!
I believe our entry fee was $8 for a carload. There was a clean bathroom, changing rooms and a small snack bar.
The snack bar provided a tasty snack and a cold drink. We also liked the fact chairs and umbrellas were available for rent --$25 for 2 chairs & 1 umbrella. The beach was clean and the water was warm and also very clean. Many singles, families with children and older folk enjoyed. I've been to many, many beaches - this is the near the top of my list!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“See the dolphins strand feed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Besides being a great beach for swimming and shells, this is THE place to see the dolphins work together to push their dinner up on the banks of the inlet to the Kiawah river.

When you get down to the beach, turn right and walk a mile or so until you get to the river inlet. Anywhere from the head of the inlet to several hundred yards up shore is a good place to wait and watch. Then, as if on queue, right before low tide, the dolphins appear. I've heard it can be hit or miss, but we were lucky enough to see two dolphins.

The problem we ran into is that on the other shore, where the dolphins were, there were a bunch of people too dumb to realize that standing right at the shoreline and following the dolphins deters them from doing their thing. When the smart dolphins manage to move away from the dumb people, they work together to push fish up on the shore and grab them. It's pretty neat.

So by all means go see the dolphins, but please be respectful enough to hang back from the shoreline 50 yards or so - you'll get a much better show!!

Hint: Take water and sunscreen. It can be a long hike for young kids under 8 or so. A large wheeled stroller or bikes with kid carriers would work well if you have little kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga,TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great public beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is where you go if you want to see the dolphins strand feed. You pay $8 to park, then walk down to the beach, then 1 1/2 miles to get to the river at low tide. It was extremely windy when we were there and the walk was arduous. But there was a snack shop, bathrooms, picnic tables, etc. The beach here is absolutely gorgeous as it is in all of Kiawah.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great beach experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We are from Florida and found this beach to be very tranquil and clean. The beach staff was very friendly and it is a great place to walk and relax. It was not crowed the day we were there, but it was on a Tuesday. I would recommend this beach to anyone visiting this area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beach Walker Park - Public Beach at Kiawah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great beach supported by Charleston County Parks. $8 per car I think to park. Showers to rinse off sand and small outdoor changing rooms is why we go. We like to hose off as much sand after ward and change out of wet clothes before we drive home. Very crowded on holiday weekends. We like the county park at Folly better (not the pier), but it has been closed for the last year since hurricanes had washed all the sand away.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachwalker County Park also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beachwalker County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwalker County Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.