We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course

The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course
Ocean Course Clubhouse, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-2121, ext. 65306
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Kiawah is one of our favorite places to visit for relaxation and to just get away for a while. When we're there, we always eat one dinner at The Atlantic Room. The price is a little steep, but the food quality and taste is outstanding, not to mention the view. We timed our last visit to coincide with sunset, because we think sunsets on an ocean view can't be beat. The Atlantic Room overlooks the Ocean Course Golf Course, and even though we don't play golf, we love to view the beautifully groomed fairways and greens.

By the way, service was outstanding, as well. Don't forget deserts, either. They're to die for!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Go for the sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The food and service are both very good. Large groups of golfers can be loud and a distraction, which prevented a five star rating. The view at sunset is spectacular! Plan to arrive a half hour before sunset, have a drink on the patio to watch the later groups of golfers finish the last hole at the Ocean Course. You can also take a leisurely drive past some fantastic houses past the second gate at Kiawah

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanssas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

We went during restaurant week which made our meal more affordable. Everything we had was delicious and beautifully presented. The crispy shrimp, tuna, and butterscotch budino were standouts! The service was cordial and attentive. The view of the ocean, marsh, and dunes was stunning. This is a special event worthy restaurant.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations, Worth the drive for such wonderful food/service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had been to The Atlantic Room before. Maybe our memory faded but this last time the food and service were even better. Winston was our incredible waiter and he was perfect. The views of the golf course at sunset are beautiful. It is well worth the drive out there for such wonderful food and service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great ocean view and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a must visit for anyone visiting Kiawah Island, SC. It is on the tip of the island (I recommend riding bikes there from either The Sanctuary (8 miles) or Freshfields Village (12 miles). If you don't want to ride the bikes back just leave them at the Ocean Course and call for a van to come pick you up for a free ride back. Great food (I recommend the oysters) and you can walk the grounds or the closely beach before or after your meal. A "do not miss" experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.