We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the most part, and excellent dining experince.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course

The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course
Ocean Course Clubhouse, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-2121, ext. 65306
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“For the most part, and excellent dining experince.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Appetizer and main entire were outstanding, as was the service and hospitality! Unfortunately we ordered the churros for dessert and they served two orders of them even though they were way overcooked (burnt). More troubling was the fact that it appeared that in an attempt to hide the fact that they were burnt, someone had turned the more severely burnt sides down on the serving plate! Shame on the kitchen for sending something like that out to a guest!

One other observation, this restaurant is very noisy, making it difficult to carry on a conversation with our gusts, other than those seated immediately to your right, left or directly across from you. Another situation where I suggest they get someone in to add some sound deadening materials to enhance the dining experience at a rather upscale restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good - we went back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very good place to enjoy a classy evening dinner. We both had the sea bass both times we ate there - and it was wonderful. Our waiter was very friendly and the service was excellent. Out of all of the restaurants we ate at (which were almost all of them), this was the best one associated with Kiawah Resort. I highly recommend this to anyone going to the island!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Best view in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love the view from this room.
Food is excellent but the view is heaven on earth.
Drive as a shuttle takes to long.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family had dinner at the Atlantic Room at Kiawah Island's Ocean Course Clubhouse. We had the bone-in ribeye, striped Bass and a grouper special also ordered the Crispy Shrimp as an appetizer. The Crispy Shrimp was good but was not my favorite although both of the guys really liked it . I had the Grouper special and it was just delicious. The persons having the other entrees really enjoyed theirs as well . The bread was hot and delicious. We also ordered 2 desserts, the first was an Olive Oil cake with a sauce and berries. I really didn't like it. The berries were good. The other we're Churros with three sauces, a milky sauce, a caramel sauce and a chocolate sauce . The Churros were a little doughy and the sauces were too thin. They brought us an order of their White Chocolate Bread Pudding after learning that we weren't impressed with the other 2 desserts. It was excellent but I was too full to enjoy it. Our waiter was named Jack and he was absolutely wonderful. He made us all feel so comfortable and he just did a great job. We would absolutely recommend this wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Fine dining experience with excellent seafood and beautiful setting. Our waiter Winston was superb. Beautiful setting

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.