We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course

The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course
Ocean Course Clubhouse, Kiawah Island Golf Resort, One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
843-768-2121, ext. 65306
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Food was really very good without any disappointments and the service was as expected. However, make sure you try and sit down about an hour before sunset for a beautiful sunset dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
greenville,sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view does not match the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We are coming every year to Kiawah Island and always enjoyed
the Atlantic Room. Over the years you could see a decline in service and food quality but this year was probably the worst. Just average nothing special, don't expect fine dining anymore . I.e. Soup just warm even after we Complaint about it and got a new one. Also left several messages for a reservation never called back, finally the sanctuary concierge made the reservation for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Watch Out Food Okay, but way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The view is great, the food is okay, but not well prepared. Some in our party requested substitutions for certain vegetables, the waiters assured them it was no problem. What they did not tell them is we were being charged $9.00 per substituted vegetable. The waiters continue to refill each wine glass despite the fact that no one requested a refill and many had left the table. We finally had to tell them to stop. We felt manipulated and victimized. The management appears to be preying on guests rather than serving them. Our meals were $100 a person. We pay that and more at restaurants all over the world. I never remember feeling this manipulated. We were soaked!!!

There are other very good dining options.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
“upscale, yet family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fun atmosphere- good food!! I was amazed at how family friendly it was! The ceviche and scallops were amazing! Also enjoyed the local tuna! Call for reservations and check out the porch! It was fun to think what famous golfers were through this very spot! It was pricy, but for island dinning, it hit the mark!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT - USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“This guy can cook......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

In early May 2013, I was in Kiawah/Charleston for a buddies golf trip followed by a family vacation. We had dinner at:

- Stars
- High Cotton
- Jasmine Porch
- Tomasso
- The Ocean Room
- Oak Steakhouse
- …and of course The Atlantic Room

All of these places were good to very good; but The Atlantic Room was excellent. It’s the Chef.

My daughter has multiple food allergies and each restaurant was very accommodating. Only Jonathan the chef of The Atlantic Room called us to discuss her allergies, preference in food and preparation shortly after we made the reservation. When we arrived he had devised 3 different entree recipes to meet my daughters requirements. She choose one and cited it as her best meal of our trip.

He also had a crispy shrimp appetizer for the rest of us that was wonderful. For the main, I went with steak and potatoes. While I no longer recall my specific order I remember vividly that it was wonderful. As good or better as any in New York City.

All of these restaurants had a nice décor and service but the food quality and preparation at The Atlantic Room set it apart. The verdict was unanimous.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Room at The Ocean Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.