We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort -- Old Southern Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kiawah Island
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort -- Old Southern Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Spent three days on business -- rooms are exceptional, southern hospitality at every turn and the location on the beach makes it a great place to relax, play a round of golf or have a drink in the lounge. Resort has shuttle that will transport you to other locations around the resort area for dinner so no need to drive -- and quite dark at night (very few lights).

Nice gym, great trails to run (on beach is nice) or recommend renting a bike and going for a long ride. There is a grocery store approx 10-min from the resort to grab wine, snacks or a very nice meal -- they have a impressive deli.

Tip 1: Great food at Cherrywood BBQ (at Clubhouse) -- make sure you also visit during the day to see the large number of alligators....we counted 23 while there.....around the clubhouse pond.

Tip 2: Ask the staff for places on the Island to eat -- they didn't stear us wrong with their local recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    72
    36
    18
    4
See reviews for
149
285
6
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island is everything you'd expect from a five star resort. Great location, great rooms, excellent service, and great food. The beach is perfect for strolling, bike riding, or just hanging out. If you feel the need to leave the property and explore, Charleston is only 30 minutes away and is a fantastic city for food, fun, and history. The Sanctuary is not inexpensive, but we definitely got our money's worth.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but ask for one with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanssas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is totally beautiful ( island, landscaping, beach, views, lobby, rooms). But beyond that the service is lovely....quiet, friendly, welcoming. We ate at several restaurants, went to the spa, walked on the beach and everything was excellent. Make sure to spend time in the lobby , it's so relaxing and gorgeous. It makes having a drink seem like an occasion.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is my 2nd visit and went down for Earl Klugh's weekend of Jazz. Awesome hotel and the food in the Jasmine Porch was magnificent...extremely good! The staff here is great and I'm talking everyone that works here. This place doesn't disappoint, it is a little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been there once a couple of years ago and my whole family was really wowed and impressed and my only problem was it too calm for my taste like Hilton Head and some people like this but not me but sure it will impress and the restaurant at the sunset time is amazing too!!

I believe I got a good deal because it was almost end of Fall or so.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Te Sanctuary at Kiawah and it is even more breath taking as the 1st. The accomodations are awesome and you will not find a more accomodating staff anywhere!! The food at the Jasmine Porch is always good, and on this visit we also experienced the poolside lunch which was very good.

I would recommend The Sanctuary to anyone looking for awesome views and superior service!!

Room Tip: All rooms are spectactular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, Hotel Manager at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Jay B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review on your return visit with us at The Sanctuary. I can't tell you how much we appreciate your loyalty and thank you so much for choosing The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort. We look forward to your sixth stay with us very soon!

Warm Regards,
Bill Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had eaten at The Sanctuary but had never stayed there. We had been in the fabulous lobby but never the rooms. Wow! It was even better than expected and I tend to be a bit critical. The rooms were large, comfortable with excellent bedding, and large modern BRs. Fabulous view of ocean from balcony.
What really impressed me however was the incredible friendliness of the entire staff, from front staff, pool staff, beach staff, dining staff and even chambermaids. Obviously management muct really really emphasize to employees the importance of Southern Hospitality.
The Sanctuary is certainly not cheap, but I think it is nicer than The Lodge at Pebble Beach or The Pinehurst Hotel and maybe even The Broadmoor. It is comparable to The Sea Island Lodge or the Plaza Hotel in NYC.
Fabulous, highly recommended!

Room Tip: All good location. We faced the "yard" overlooking the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.