We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“As great as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have vacationed at the Sanctuary for the last four years. This year, we decided to try something different and rent a villa next door in the Windswept complex. The villa was a huge disappointment due to cleanliness and bugs. Called the Sanctuary to check on availability for the remainder of our week in Kiawah and was promptly given a reservation for a disabled room, as I was traveling with my elderly mother who needed assistance. As the person making the reservation knew of our previous stays and disappointment with a buggy villa, she ended the conversation with "welcome home" to the Sanctuary. Upon arrival it was great to see many of the staff members were still there. Many of the valets, pool and beach attendants, wait staff etc. have been at the hotel since we began coming. Everything was top notch as always. They know how to make returning guests and all guests feel special. It truly is like coming home. You cannot truly experience Kiawah without a visit to the hotel. My only complaint is the very limited to almost non existent food choices for vegetarians. A few more healthful non meat selections in the resort restaurants would be desirable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    83
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
171
325
6
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Sanctuary is an outstanding resort with stellar, knowledgeable staff :) The accommodations are amazing. We had a beautiful, almost oceanfront view. The housekeeping staff was professional and friendly, providing exceptional turndown services. We had a wonderful stay that was family-friendly. The pool & beach service was better than any other resort we have been to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been to Kiawah many times before with our children and stayed in different villas and homes. This was our first visit as a couple and were very pleased with the level of personalized service and quality of accommodations. Let them know of any special occasions and any activities you are interested in so that they can help with scheduling and make specific recommendations . I was was considering playing only 9 holes at Osprey Point so I could play more quickly as my wife relaxed at the pool. They set up an afternoon tee time with no one in front of me and I played 18 holes in 3 hours. TIPS: 1. Ask for a detailed map of the bike trails and roads (bell stand has this) since the trails tend to be minimally marked. On check in they gave us only a small map that had little detail. 2. Be sure to tour the Island on bike and visit the Marsh towers. 3. If you arrive before check in you can change in the provided locker rooms and enjoy the poolside amenities until your room is ready with your luggage delivered. Best check in experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Sancutuary was amazing. The hotel was impeccable. It was more expensive than I had originally budget but i did not regret it. My only suggestion would be to have coffee available in the guest room.

Room Tip: Morning coffee is available at Jasmine porch instead of in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful 5 day stay celebrating our anniversary. This comes closer to perfection than anywhere I have ever been!!! Kayaking in the marsh, golf, rest and relaxation, sitting by the beach or pool with waiters bringing frozen peach daiquiris - it doesn't get any better than this!.
Beautiful room and amenities. Ocean Room, Atlantic Room and Jasmine Porch were all wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine Ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a fantastic resort to be a part of of for some rest and relaxation in the low country. The service is outstanding and the location and architecture of the property is unparalleled.
We enjoyed the local golf courses, ocean swimming and bike riding along the trails.
It was the no stress express vacation that we will remember for many years to come.

Room Tip: Ocean views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place really has first class service and you cannot make a mistake staying here. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you will be pampered and treated with the greatest level of service.

We stayed for the 4th of July. The fireworks over the pool are a real treat. My only suggestion would be that they play some music while the fireworks go off to dramatize it a bit. :) We loved the adult pool area. Service there was fantastic with the attendants setting up towels and towel pillows on our chairs. Ordering food and drink poolside is a breeze as well. If you want to head down to lay on the beach for a change of pace, no problem. The attendants will set you up there with chairs, towels, towel pillow, umbrella and an ice cold water bottle. What a dream! I saw people wrote about having additional charges for this service but it never appeared on our bill. We weren't sure why and thought maybe the policy had changed. And what they say about the beach being soft hard-packed sand is 100% true! Go ahead and ride your bike on it and see for yourself!

You cannot beat the views that the Sanctuary has to offer. Stunning ocean side resort. Our room was stunning and was kept immaculate by the wonderful housekeeping staff during our stay.

We dined at the Ocean Room and Jasmine Porch during our stay. Both were excellent restaurants though the Ocean Room was hands down the better place. Get the wagyu beef!!! On the 4th of July we had the buffet at Loggerhead Grill which was very nice but is not offered year round.

Definitely go rent kayaks while you are there. If you know how to kayak, skip the tours. It's a straight shot of river so you really don't need a tour guide. We rented a two-seater kayak for 3 hours for $60-70. We had heard about dolphins being the waters but we never thought we would be so lucky as to actually see one. We saw at least 10 on our excursion!! It must be a commonplace thing around Kiawah but certainly not where we are from! We were in awe of how lucky we were to see such amazing animals wild and up close!

Next time we come back we want to hit the golf course as it looked spectacular. And also check out the shops in the cute little Kiawah town just outside the gates. We wished we had had more time to spend wandering around there.

Definitely put this on your vacation list. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.