We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been to Kiawah many times before with our children and stayed in different villas and homes. This was our first visit as a couple and were very pleased with the level of personalized service and quality of accommodations. Let them know of any special occasions and any activities you are interested in so that they can help with scheduling and make specific recommendations . I was was considering playing only 9 holes at Osprey Point so I could play more quickly as my wife relaxed at the pool. They set up an afternoon tee time with no one in front of me and I played 18 holes in 3 hours. TIPS: 1. Ask for a detailed map of the bike trails and roads (bell stand has this) since the trails tend to be minimally marked. On check in they gave us only a small map that had little detail. 2. Be sure to tour the Island on bike and visit the Marsh towers. 3. If you arrive before check in you can change in the provided locker rooms and enjoy the poolside amenities until your room is ready with your luggage delivered. Best check in experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    81
    39
    18
    5
See reviews for
165
305
6
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Sancutuary was amazing. The hotel was impeccable. It was more expensive than I had originally budget but i did not regret it. My only suggestion would be to have coffee available in the guest room.

Room Tip: Morning coffee is available at Jasmine porch instead of in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful 5 day stay celebrating our anniversary. This comes closer to perfection than anywhere I have ever been!!! Kayaking in the marsh, golf, rest and relaxation, sitting by the beach or pool with waiters bringing frozen peach daiquiris - it doesn't get any better than this!.
Beautiful room and amenities. Ocean Room, Atlantic Room and Jasmine Porch were all wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine Ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a fantastic resort to be a part of of for some rest and relaxation in the low country. The service is outstanding and the location and architecture of the property is unparalleled.
We enjoyed the local golf courses, ocean swimming and bike riding along the trails.
It was the no stress express vacation that we will remember for many years to come.

Room Tip: Ocean views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place really has first class service and you cannot make a mistake staying here. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you will be pampered and treated with the greatest level of service.

We stayed for the 4th of July. The fireworks over the pool are a real treat. My only suggestion would be that they play some music while the fireworks go off to dramatize it a bit. :) We loved the adult pool area. Service there was fantastic with the attendants setting up towels and towel pillows on our chairs. Ordering food and drink poolside is a breeze as well. If you want to head down to lay on the beach for a change of pace, no problem. The attendants will set you up there with chairs, towels, towel pillow, umbrella and an ice cold water bottle. What a dream! I saw people wrote about having additional charges for this service but it never appeared on our bill. We weren't sure why and thought maybe the policy had changed. And what they say about the beach being soft hard-packed sand is 100% true! Go ahead and ride your bike on it and see for yourself!

You cannot beat the views that the Sanctuary has to offer. Stunning ocean side resort. Our room was stunning and was kept immaculate by the wonderful housekeeping staff during our stay.

We dined at the Ocean Room and Jasmine Porch during our stay. Both were excellent restaurants though the Ocean Room was hands down the better place. Get the wagyu beef!!! On the 4th of July we had the buffet at Loggerhead Grill which was very nice but is not offered year round.

Definitely go rent kayaks while you are there. If you know how to kayak, skip the tours. It's a straight shot of river so you really don't need a tour guide. We rented a two-seater kayak for 3 hours for $60-70. We had heard about dolphins being the waters but we never thought we would be so lucky as to actually see one. We saw at least 10 on our excursion!! It must be a commonplace thing around Kiawah but certainly not where we are from! We were in awe of how lucky we were to see such amazing animals wild and up close!

Next time we come back we want to hit the golf course as it looked spectacular. And also check out the shops in the cute little Kiawah town just outside the gates. We wished we had had more time to spend wandering around there.

Definitely put this on your vacation list. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from a family vacation to Georgia and South Carolina, and spent 6 nights at The Sanctuary. This is truly a fantastic hotel. Beautiful lobby and bar, great pool with lots of chairs, and a gorgeous beach just steps below the pool. Service is impeccable. Food at Jasmine Porch and the Ocean Room is excellent. And, the golf courses (played Osprey Point and Ocean Course) are pristine. Leaving at 6:30 one morning for golf, I saw someone in the elevator with a clipboard shaking the handrail and taking notes. He had a long checklist of items that he told me gets completed every morning to assure that the hotel is in tip top shape to start each day. I cannot imagine there is a better resort hotel in America,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, Hotel Manager at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jeffrey M,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review on The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip so much that you labeled it "Perfection." Our ladies and gentlemen of The Sanctuary strive to provide excellent service to our guests and I will be sure to share your comments at our next staff meeting.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near furture.

Warm regard,
Bill Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Lots of fun things to do. The hotel felt like a huge plantation house and our room had a balcony and great view of the ocean and pool area. The bathroom opened onto the room with a shuttered window, bringing natural light into the huge bath area. Very upscale place. Enjoyed riding (free) bikes throughout the property while my husband played golf. Lots of houses in the development that also used the resort's restaurants, so advance reservations required! A fun place for a vacation home with much for families to do (waterpark, playgrounds, basketball courts, tennis, etc.). Hate to be there in a hurricane though - this is LOW country!

Room Tip: high floor overlooking pool, with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;