We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to The Sanctuary. It couldn't have been better! The hotel is fabulous with amazing staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay special. The housekeeping staff was the best we have ever had. We have stayed at many nice hotels and this is definitely one of the best--much better than any Ritz Carlton that we have stayed at. We loved playing tennis and renting bikes to ride all over the island. We recommend riding to the Kiawah River mouth on Beachwalker Beach. During low tide you will see dolphins strand feeding-amazing! We had great meals while we were there. One of our favorite spots was the Cherrywood BBQ at Osprey Point. It is a casual restaurant, but delicious and friendly. We loved watching the alligators at the pond on the 18th hole. Another great place is Tomasso-Itallian restaurant that is fabulous. Only disappointment was The Ocean Room. This restaurant is their premier restaurant, but we were extremely disappointed. The service was very poor. We felt like we were ignored and the food was just mediocre. It is an expensive restaurant, which is fine if you get what you pay for, but we really didn't feel like we did. Don't waste your money there, there are plenty of other great places to eat on the island.
We couldn't be happier with our stay. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room. It was beautiful. I don't think there could be a bad room at this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    81
    39
    18
    5
See reviews for
165
305
6
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This surprise trip was delightful! Upon learning it was a special birthday, the staff gave us an upgrade & delved a bottle of champaign to our suite in celebration. The room was spacious and decorated in understated luxury. Marble oversized bathroom with great toiletries added to the comfort. We particularly enjoyed the adult pool area with delightful Jaimacan attendants attentively assisting us as needed. On site dinner was average, but the wait staff on its mark. Be sure to have a drink in the open lobby area. Excellent views and people watching!

Room Tip: Wing closest to pool was very quiet with lovely views of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Love the hotel and have stayed several times - the rooms are great - housekeeping staff is top-notch. Biking on the beach and on the trails is always a highlight. We also enjoyed kayaking on the Kiawah River - the island is absolutely pristine, and the hotel is the right size. Service is great. Food at the resort could be better and is expensive, but there are lots of dining options outside of the resort (including Charleston.) We really enjoyed the Oyster Roast at Mingo Point - definitely worth going. Food was great, and they had live music.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great - wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel is pure luxury. Despite being high season, there is no feeling of it being over-capacity. This hotel draws a sophisticated clientele--a true testimony of polite Southern Charm. The beach is beautiful. The chairs, umbrella, and beach service make you want to stay all day. The weather with bright sun and light breeze are much more comfortable than the Florida coast.

The restaurants, pool bar, and lobby bar have top-notch cuisine and libations. Our family relaxed with lemonade and sweet tea in the comfortable and nicely appointed main hall after a sun-filled day. Activities abound if you prefer to explore. A booklet of activities for adults, kids, or entire families provided options including alligator or bird watching, kayaking, paddle boarding. kid's camp, teen laser tag, and evening activities. The quality golf courses were the high point for the guys on our trip and equally as enticing were the spa services for the girls. The concierge was very helpful and her suggestions did not disappoint. Service could not have been better. Facilities were impeccable. The hotel shops were filled with great sportswear and admirable gifts. I especially enjoyed the art shop and the ice cream parlor.

One activity which cannot be missed. Please rent a bike, even if you have not been on one in 20 years! Our family had the best time and may go home to purchase bikes after our Kiawah Island experience. It reminds me of being a kid and getting on a bike just to get out of the house. The trails are paved and run parallel to most roads. I felt safe to allow my 10 and 14 year-olds go out on their own. A map provided by the concierge is recommended! You can easily loose yourself in the splendor of the island--a true time machine back to the banana seat and high-handle bars of my 70's childhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

So many things to do! Nature is one with you here. It's not cheep but the best things in live are not cheep.
Out of all the #1 community country club living I rate this the best!! Makes Ocean Reef Club look like a trailor park!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is rare nowadays to experience TRULY OUSTANDING SERVICE , whereby everyone’s needs and expectations are met and/or exceeded, however, your facility and team did just that. Taylor/ Jason – Pool Server, Dwight- Pool Attendant, Tim – Valet, Michelle- Room Attendant , Nicole –Lobby Bar and Greg- Front Desk Manager were absolutely wonderful to chat it up with and did everything possible to ensure that our stay was the success that we desired.
The Trip to the Island couldn't have been any better !!!
Hope to return soon !!!

Room Tip: Must have Ocean View Room with Porch !!! Higher Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staying at the Sanctuary and having an ocean side room is the best!! The views, service, and quality of everything, including the bed & food was fantastic! One of my favorite parts of the island are the endless trails! I call this place a slice of paradise! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.