We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbecue at its Best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherrywood BBQ and Ale House

Cherrywood BBQ and Ale House
700 Governors Dr Kiawah Island, SC, Kiawah Island, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, American, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Barbecue at its Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived on Kiawah island late in the evening and were starving. We were so happy to find the Cherrywood BBQ and Ale House! We were quickly seated in the restaurant - typical clubhouse decor, hightop and low top tables, lots of televisions and lots of volume. Our order was quickly taken by our very polite waiter Ty. Ty told us that the smoked barbecue was all delicious so we ordered two different combo plates, with each type of barbecue between the two plates. We loved ALL of it! The brisket was excellent! It was tender and very flavorable. Ty had explained each of the four house made sauces and we tried them all - each was delicious. We loved the cornbread - it was light and fluffy and not too sweet. The prices are resort prices, not a great deal. But, when you are hungry and on an island - you'll pay what's necessary for yummy, hot, delcious food. When the wait staff is pleasant, professional, and a pleasure to do business with - that makes it all worth while.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susanlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Cherrywood BBQ Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stopped by here after playing and and Nachos with BBQ pork that were to die for. Had my doubts but great food and good advice from bartenders on beer and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Great beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Laid back club house dinning with a dedicated gluten free selections. All of the restaurants can offer gluten free but is reassuring to see it on the menu. The bbq sauces on the table were very tasty ranging from hot spicy to vinegary .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ - relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great BBQ - very relaxed atmosphere. We were told this was a good place to see the alligators on the island. We were able to see one there that day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssok2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I went here today. This being Restaurant Week, there was a special menu. I had the brisket. It was very moist and very tasty and my husband enjoyed the free range chicken. There were four different sauces to choose from and they were all very good. The ride was long, but it was a beautiful day and we enjoyed that as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaCarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherrywood BBQ and Ale House also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cherrywood BBQ and Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing