We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, food not very good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse

The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse
1 Ocean Course, Kiawah Island, SC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: www.kiawahresort.com
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful view, food not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Husband and I went last week. The views are unmatched and definitely worth a visit solely for this reason. My husband had a burger and said it was ok, but I had a tuna melt, which was not edible. As this is a public course, we were both surprised at the lack of decorum demonstrated by the guests. A woman next to me pulled out her hair brush and proceeded to brush her hair and many people were dressed poorly (think gym clothes). This is definitely not the norm for any club I have ever visited. Stick to cocktails if you do go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    63
    34
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot for a wonderful kiawah evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have eaten several times at the Atlantic Room and this year decided to try the Ryder Cup Bar.....it was a wonderful alternative. We very much enjoyed the laid back atmosphere on the patio overlooking the golf course. My wife enjoyed the evening fish special and I as well as our son's enjoyed the burger.....quite possibly the best burger I have ever had....the bistro potatoes were also delicious and a great twist on standard fries.....and the desserts were outstanding and the perfect end to a wonderful kiawah evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Limited Menu...Severely Overpriced...Nice Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After a round at the Ocean Course me and my wife were looking forward to having a nice lunch at the Ryder Cup Bar. I guess you are paying for the views as the price per plate was unbelievably overpriced. I realize that you are paying for the facility but $7 for a beer and $15 for a grilled cheese was a little much. The food was OK...not great but sitting on the porch viewing the 18th hole with ocean views made up for it...I would eat elsewhere if done all over.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Ocean views. Amazing unique cocktails! Delicious well crafted food with a southern touch! Get here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. A huge wrap around covered porch with big padded wicker chairs and a view of the Rolling surf and the beautiful Ocean Course golf course. The drink menu is original and well done. I like the "On the Green" martini with a cucumber and dill infusion. My wife enjoys "The Skinny" with its pomegranate and vodka. The Warm Carolina Crab Dip is absolutely delicious... thick with the freshest and most flavorful crab around. You can't go wrong here. Indoor seating also available and a higher end indoor restaurant right next door. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ocean views, good food, what else do you need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Skip the overpriced Atlantic Room and eat here instead! Food was very good and sitting looking at the ocean is great. Family friendly too. Will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.