We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a wonderful kiawah evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse

The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse
1 Ocean Course, Kiawah Island, SC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: www.kiawahresort.com
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great spot for a wonderful kiawah evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have eaten several times at the Atlantic Room and this year decided to try the Ryder Cup Bar.....it was a wonderful alternative. We very much enjoyed the laid back atmosphere on the patio overlooking the golf course. My wife enjoyed the evening fish special and I as well as our son's enjoyed the burger.....quite possibly the best burger I have ever had....the bistro potatoes were also delicious and a great twist on standard fries.....and the desserts were outstanding and the perfect end to a wonderful kiawah evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    54
    33
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Limited Menu...Severely Overpriced...Nice Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After a round at the Ocean Course me and my wife were looking forward to having a nice lunch at the Ryder Cup Bar. I guess you are paying for the views as the price per plate was unbelievably overpriced. I realize that you are paying for the facility but $7 for a beer and $15 for a grilled cheese was a little much. The food was OK...not great but sitting on the porch viewing the 18th hole with ocean views made up for it...I would eat elsewhere if done all over.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Ocean views. Amazing unique cocktails! Delicious well crafted food with a southern touch! Get here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. A huge wrap around covered porch with big padded wicker chairs and a view of the Rolling surf and the beautiful Ocean Course golf course. The drink menu is original and well done. I like the "On the Green" martini with a cucumber and dill infusion. My wife enjoys "The Skinny" with its pomegranate and vodka. The Warm Carolina Crab Dip is absolutely delicious... thick with the freshest and most flavorful crab around. You can't go wrong here. Indoor seating also available and a higher end indoor restaurant right next door. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ocean views, good food, what else do you need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Skip the overpriced Atlantic Room and eat here instead! Food was very good and sitting looking at the ocean is great. Family friendly too. Will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our waitress was super friendly and attentive. The food was tasty fresh and beautifully presented. The portions were on the small side, which was a nice change to the huge portions served at other places. Atmosphere was legendary! Will try to return again for a megaliths trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.