We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Waitstaff Nice Presentation Relaxing Enjoyable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse

The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse
1 Ocean Course, Kiawah Island, SC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: www.kiawahresort.com
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Waitstaff Nice Presentation Relaxing Enjoyable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Start with apps. Oysters on the half shell very fresh but the three sauces that come with it especially the mustard mango was awesome. Basic chicken wings done well. Crispy, juicy with just enough bite along with the blue cheese dressing. Fresh fish tacos, jerk chicken BLT were done right. Tacos fresh, BLT smokey and tasty. Onion rings very good. Fries the same Cole slaw fresh but more on the bland side for my taste. Kids burger and grilled cheese were gobbled up. Desserts of crème brulee, blood orange sorbet and citrus white chocolate mouse were again excellent. Portions were all good sized. Pricey but the best bar food around. Worth the drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    62
    34
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We sat outside for dinner just when the sun was setting providing a stunning view of the ocean and the 18th hole. We had burgers and the fish tacos and they were very good. The cosmos were good too! Made just the way I like them, light pink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location-you couldn't ask for more beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

You don't have to be a golfer to enjoy this setting. Make sure you go close to sunset and take a sweater it can be cool and breezy if you sit outside which I would recommend. Yes the drinks are expensive but enjoy yourself. The food we ordered was good, service was good and we just relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. Getting to and leaving the the clubhouse can be a challenge. It is at the far end of the island, there is some road construction, and no street lights. If you are staying on the Kiawah Island, you need to get here even if all you do is have a drink. Take your camera.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great views, great food, great people watching-- very fun place to eat and hang out for a while. A must for golfers and very enjoyable for non-golfers. Oh, and the pimento grilled cheese with fried green tomatoes on cornbread is amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cobine an excellent view with outstanding food and you've got this great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went for dinner with my family and were welcomed very friendly and offered a very nice table - the waiters were very attentive and took good cate of us and our son. Starting off with a fantastic starter followed by outstanding main dishes! Many places that are that famous are very reluctant to match their brand with good food - not so this place: the kitchen really did a fantastic job and the service was very good! The environment is pretty much unique and also appeals to non-golfers!

While you woud expect this place to charge a fortune, let me tell you that this is not the case. You really get very good value for the money! We'll be back asap!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.