We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Golf Paradise - Very Friendly Resort But Needs Some TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sewall s Point, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Golf Paradise - Very Friendly Resort But Needs Some TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is one of the more outstanding locations of the coastal southern regions. It boasts seven golf courses, five of them open to the public. The general harmony and peace of the resort is exceptional and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a 'villa' which is effectively one floor of an apartment building. The place itself was pretty spacious with a bedroom, kitchen, lounge, dining area, bathroom and outside balcony big enough to seat six for a meal. Everything worked well and all I would say is that it felt a little dated and needed some modernizing but for the price in late October, it was fine.

Street lighting at night is lacking and I felt more than a little nervous driving on the island at night when off the main arterial road. Many of the restaurants were closed however, either because they were seasonal or open on 'holidays' or just two nights a week so that made the choice pretty slim - it was either go to the high priced Ocean Room or go to a golf club bar, neither of which we wanted.

My daughter was staying in a different villa with her university golf team (they were playing an intercollegiate event at Turtle Point on the island) and all of the girls in the team complained of cockroaches in their particular villa although we had no similar complaints in our place.

Overall opinion though, tranquil setting backed by that wonderful southern charm!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVegis01, Guest Relations Manager at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to sincerely apologize for the disappointments you and your daughter’s golf team had with your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve the Kiawah experience. I would love to have the chance to speak or email with you personally regarding your experience in hopes to address the challenges and hopefully you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me at your convenience.

Thank you,
Sarah Morgan
Director of Guest Service
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
(843)768-2845
Sarah_morgan@kiawahresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    54
    31
    20
    17
See reviews for
128
114
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Fabulous golf, food and accommodations . You don't do any better than this. The ocean Course is a terrific test of golf and was in pristine shape. The caddies were great too. Food all over the properties was delicious. Our villa was magnificent. Spend the extra money on the Maritime Villas. Get the golf package and include breakfast at the Sanctuary. We took two villas for the 8 of us and had our own bedroom and bath. In our plans to return in a few years.all of the other courses were great as well.
Rick K
Hauppauge New York

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My son and daughter-in-law invited my wife and I to spend a week with them and our 2 granddaughter's in Kiawah Island. They had rented a 3 bedroom townhouse unit in Shipshape right on the beach. The place was gorgeous. It had everything you would need. Kiawah island is a great place for a family vacation or a getaway with your spouse. You can golf, fish or just lay on the beach. They also have numerous restaurants and a general store so you never have to leave the island. You can also cook at home if you like. Even though we had a car we used bicycles to get around. They are inexpensive to rent and they bring the bikes to you. They have various swimming pools throughout the island for both adults and children. They also have a nature center for kids with various species of wildlife. My eldest granddaughter made me take her there every day to see the turtles and baby alligators. We also saw some deer by the beach. We went the last week in September and the weather was great. I would highly recommend Kiawah island. In fact we are already talking about going back in March.

Room Tip: Check with Trip Advisor for their reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We rented unit #4325 in the Windswept units. It was in the perfect location - right on the ocean, just a short boardwalk between us and the beach and right across the road from the pool complex. We could not have hoped for a better spot for a spontaneous long weekend get away.

We arrived after dark and checked in quickly and received the key cards for our unit. A couple of turns later we were unloaded our belongings into a lovely two bedroom, two bathroom unit. The kitchen and bathrooms were all updated with fresh granite and tile. The master bedroom has a king size bed, the second bedroom has two twin beds. The kitchen had everything we needed and we really appreciated having a large refrigerator to stock with cold drinks and sandwiches for the beach.

The ocean side patio has a high top table, perfect for watching the sunrise or enjoying a cold drink at dusk.

The unit has 3 large flat screen televisions, ample seating, and all of the comforts of home. We enjoyed staying at this unit very much. Our only caveats: that there is no door between the master bedroom and the master bathroom. Not something this long time married couple enjoyed - but probably not a big deal for most others. The master bedroom head board squeaks - we tried WD40, but that did not take care of the problem - must need some tightening with a wrench. Check out is 10:30 AM, we were surprised to have Housekeeping knocking on our door just after 9:00 AM. We were up and about, but could easily have been walked in on at that hour of the morning.

We enjoyed our stay very much. We'll be sure to return for future visits. We had wonderful meals at the Ryder Cup - out on the porch at sunset was absolutely beautiful. We also had wonderful barbecue at Osprey Point Cherrywood BBQ & Ale House. The golf courses looked stunning - can't wait to come back and try them out.

Room Tip: Look for a location close to the beach and to the pools. Any of the Windswept units should fit that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Husband and I rented a 1 bedroom ocean view premiere unit in Shipwatch, through the resort, in September.To me Kiawah resort is like a beach in the middle of a nature preserve. (Since there have been many posts regarding this resort I will try to add only thoughts on some of the less common topics.). I believe the only way to have access to the resorts pools is to rent directly from the hotel. Remember to ask for a triple AAA discount if you are a member. Also, guests renting through resort should remember to ask for discounts at the golf courses. There may also be discounts for playing a second golf round.

This unit was beautiful with a small deck and a pretty but somewhat obscured view of the ocean
because of the trees. Ship-watch is in the west beach area and the nearest pool is the new west beach pool which is for young children because of its slides. It is a long walk to the heated lap lanes at the Night Heron pool. Although, it is a nice bike ride. If you are at the resort outside of high season, you need to be aware of pool service hours. The night heron pool also has a large slide pool for younger children. There are beach chairs and umbrellas available for rent on the beach near ship watch. In September many were set up in the morning and could be rented from a near by truck for $30 per day or $120 per week. Or you may use your own chairs but will need a sturdy umbrella to deal with the wind.

Because of the surrounding area, there will likely be bugs when you are outside. So remember to bring bug spray. You may also want to refrain from eating on your unit deck.

Kiawah Resort is well suited for families because of the many activities available. Obviously, it is also ahaven for golfers because of its beautiful courses. However, it is also a beautiful place to simply walk on the beach or paths, bike ride, swim or just look at the beautiful homes throughout the island.

Room Tip: Research the location , level and view you would like before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Kiawah. The area is quiet and relaxing. The 1 bedroom unit we rented from Kiawah Island Golf Resort was furnished with everything we needed including two beach chairs. The staff was friendly but the condo seemed like it had been slap-dash cleaned. Would have rated it a 5 if it had been cleaned better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Exclusive place for those who enjoy fine dining and great beaches. The staff is wonderful. Highly recommend eating at the Ocean course Atlantic room. The view is breathtaking. My kids loved the heated Night Heron pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Seaside Inn
#2 of 6 in Isle of Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.