We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Senoia, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We rented unit #4325 in the Windswept units. It was in the perfect location - right on the ocean, just a short boardwalk between us and the beach and right across the road from the pool complex. We could not have hoped for a better spot for a spontaneous long weekend get away.

We arrived after dark and checked in quickly and received the key cards for our unit. A couple of turns later we were unloaded our belongings into a lovely two bedroom, two bathroom unit. The kitchen and bathrooms were all updated with fresh granite and tile. The master bedroom has a king size bed, the second bedroom has two twin beds. The kitchen had everything we needed and we really appreciated having a large refrigerator to stock with cold drinks and sandwiches for the beach.

The ocean side patio has a high top table, perfect for watching the sunrise or enjoying a cold drink at dusk.

The unit has 3 large flat screen televisions, ample seating, and all of the comforts of home. We enjoyed staying at this unit very much. Our only caveats: that there is no door between the master bedroom and the master bathroom. Not something this long time married couple enjoyed - but probably not a big deal for most others. The master bedroom head board squeaks - we tried WD40, but that did not take care of the problem - must need some tightening with a wrench. Check out is 10:30 AM, we were surprised to have Housekeeping knocking on our door just after 9:00 AM. We were up and about, but could easily have been walked in on at that hour of the morning.

We enjoyed our stay very much. We'll be sure to return for future visits. We had wonderful meals at the Ryder Cup - out on the porch at sunset was absolutely beautiful. We also had wonderful barbecue at Osprey Point Cherrywood BBQ & Ale House. The golf courses looked stunning - can't wait to come back and try them out.

Room Tip: Look for a location close to the beach and to the pools. Any of the Windswept units should fit that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    51
    27
    16
    13
See reviews for
120
107
4
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Husband and I rented a 1 bedroom ocean view premiere unit in Shipwatch, through the resort, in September.To me Kiawah resort is like a beach in the middle of a nature preserve. (Since there have been many posts regarding this resort I will try to add only thoughts on some of the less common topics.). I believe the only way to have access to the resorts pools is to rent directly from the hotel. Remember to ask for a triple AAA discount if you are a member. Also, guests renting through resort should remember to ask for discounts at the golf courses. There may also be discounts for playing a second golf round.

This unit was beautiful with a small deck and a pretty but somewhat obscured view of the ocean
because of the trees. Ship-watch is in the west beach area and the nearest pool is the new west beach pool which is for young children because of its slides. It is a long walk to the heated lap lanes at the Night Heron pool. Although, it is a nice bike ride. If you are at the resort outside of high season, you need to be aware of pool service hours. The night heron pool also has a large slide pool for younger children. There are beach chairs and umbrellas available for rent on the beach near ship watch. In September many were set up in the morning and could be rented from a near by truck for $30 per day or $120 per week. Or you may use your own chairs but will need a sturdy umbrella to deal with the wind.

Because of the surrounding area, there will likely be bugs when you are outside. So remember to bring bug spray. You may also want to refrain from eating on your unit deck.

Kiawah Resort is well suited for families because of the many activities available. Obviously, it is also ahaven for golfers because of its beautiful courses. However, it is also a beautiful place to simply walk on the beach or paths, bike ride, swim or just look at the beautiful homes throughout the island.

Room Tip: Research the location , level and view you would like before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Kiawah. The area is quiet and relaxing. The 1 bedroom unit we rented from Kiawah Island Golf Resort was furnished with everything we needed including two beach chairs. The staff was friendly but the condo seemed like it had been slap-dash cleaned. Would have rated it a 5 if it had been cleaned better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Exclusive place for those who enjoy fine dining and great beaches. The staff is wonderful. Highly recommend eating at the Ocean course Atlantic room. The view is breathtaking. My kids loved the heated Night Heron pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staying at beach front villa and couldn't be happier. The beaches are gorgeous. The villa is very nice. The resort easy to book with. The dear and herons walk freely through out property. . Absolutely impeccable grounds. This is a real winner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom first floor villa in the Turtle Cove section of Kiawah Island. The condo was comfortably furnished, nothing fancy but we booked the basic . Ironically we only saw turtles swimming in the lagoon just off the screened in deck. The were plenty of alligators sunning and swimming in other ponds and lagoons around the Island. We were walking distance to the Town Market and the Sanctuary. Highlights included bike riding on the beach and great dinning everywhere.

Room Tip: Always ask for a water view, either ocean or lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The resort is very nice - the shuttle service was wonderful. We stayed in a villa - 5142 Windswept and it was very nice- wonderful view of the beach and easy access a short walk down to the boardwalk.

Room Tip: There was no room service or housekeeping service available at our villa. Our room was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.