We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Exclusive place for those who enjoy fine dining and great beaches. The staff is wonderful. Highly recommend eating at the Ocean course Atlantic room. The view is breathtaking. My kids loved the heated Night Heron pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    44
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
102
98
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staying at beach front villa and couldn't be happier. The beaches are gorgeous. The villa is very nice. The resort easy to book with. The dear and herons walk freely through out property. . Absolutely impeccable grounds. This is a real winner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom first floor villa in the Turtle Cove section of Kiawah Island. The condo was comfortably furnished, nothing fancy but we booked the basic . Ironically we only saw turtles swimming in the lagoon just off the screened in deck. The were plenty of alligators sunning and swimming in other ponds and lagoons around the Island. We were walking distance to the Town Market and the Sanctuary. Highlights included bike riding on the beach and great dinning everywhere.

Room Tip: Always ask for a water view, either ocean or lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The resort is very nice - the shuttle service was wonderful. We stayed in a villa - 5142 Windswept and it was very nice- wonderful view of the beach and easy access a short walk down to the boardwalk.

Room Tip: There was no room service or housekeeping service available at our villa. Our room was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

really enjoy and played a lot of golf and think I slept on the golf course.. lots of good southern food.. and the hospitality was just geat and beautiful... would like to spend more time .. but, have to come home and go to work ronb

Room Tip: get a room facing the ocean and its a beautiful site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I don't normally right reviews, but I have to say - our recent trip to Kiawah Island Golf Resort was fantastic. We stayed in a 3 bedroom east villa overlooking the ocean. The villa was just the right size for my wife, 3 year old, mom and dad and mother in-law. The Heron kids pool was so awesome, my daughter did not want to leave. we ate at the Atlantic Grill and the food and service was great - and what a view at sunset... The resort is well situated, and allowed for us to walk or bike to anywhere we wished. All in all, what a great vacation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we made the reservation, we were told that there were three levels of accommodation and we chose the middle - which was said to be partially updated and very nice. It indeed had new floors and countertops and relatively new appliances. But beyond that, I would hate to see the lowest level, as our condo was sparsely decorated, cheap furniture, an old mattress, the smallest flat panel TV I have seen, an extremely uncomfortable chair in the living room, and a cable just kind of running along the floor board in the bedroom. There was one sharp knife in the drawer, and generally the kitchen was poorly equipped. It had a VCR - wow how 90s! We have rented resort managed condos owned by individual owners at Hilton Head, Ocean Isle, Emerald Isle, Isle of Palms and this was the worst overall and by far the worst value for the money. For many years we owned a condo at Chetola in Blowing Rock and rented it through their resort program - they would have never allowed a condo like this to be in the program. We would not recommend renting through Kiawah to anyone, this condo was a terrible value for the money.

We filled out their survey with essentially the same comments as above and never heard anything back. This was a terrible value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVegis01, Guest Relations Manager at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to sincerely apologize about your disappointment with your accommodations and the lack of response to the survey you filled out. I would appreciate the chance to email or speak with you directly regarding your experience in more detail so I can further look into your accomodations.

Thank you,
Sarah Morgan
Director of Guest Service
Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Email: sarah_morgan@kiawahresort.com
Phone: (843)768-2845
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel
Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.