We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise close to home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise close to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My favorite place in the world, made even better by the service mentality of the staff.
Golf is great, with the instructors at Turtle Point very focused on your enjoyment of the game.
Beach is fabulous, with the island having great natural beauty and wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

While visiting friends who live on the island, I had the opportunity to play the River Course twice. First, the facilities leave nothing to be desired. The resturant had a varied lunch menu and a nice selection of beers. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Secondly, the course was challenging but fair. Due to the temperature, there were coolers every third hole with ice water and towels in ice. The 15th tee was unique to say the least. A staff member was manning a refreshment stand where you could choose rum, vodka or gin punch. If that wasn't enough, there was a shrimp gestpacho with fresh guacamole and fresh cookies. Coming off the 18th green you're met by another staff member who provides everyone with water and scented iced towels. In all candor however, some of these items were a little over he top but for the cost of membership and or daily fees management needs to do something "unique".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible disappointment. Got married on Kiawah Beach 11 years ago and was so excited to return with our children for a long weekend and business trip. Upon entering our villa we encountered bugs all over the kitchen counter. Strike one. Immediately phoned the front desk and we were switched to a new villa. As we were unpacking a Palmetto bug was crawling around the bathroom...which was disposed of, but the damage was done. That sent my 10 year old into hysterics. She calmed down until two more Palmetto bugs showed up..Strike two! The last and final straw came when I went to get the shower ready for my daughter and the curtain was filthy...yuck! Strike three! We had had enough. So very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbdflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeVegis01, Public Relations Manager at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We did some research and didn't find your reservation information in our records (i.e. no reservation from the Chattanooga area with anything close to the name on your TripAdvisor post during the month of July). There are a number of companies that rent properties on Kiawah Island in addition to Kiawah island Golf Resort. It's very possible that you may have rented through one of those agencies.

Over the past few years, the resort has made a concerted effort to improve the quality of the rental units on our program. Many of the lesser-quality villas have been removed from our inventory. In addition, we rate our units based on various criteria. Guests can pick between Premier, Deluxe and Resort quality (as well as Oceanfront, Oceanview and Scenic view villas) so guests can choose the type and quality of their villa experience. While there are occasions where quality issues slip through the cracks, we do everything in our power to address these concerns and give the best vacation experience possible.

Since you have a long history with Kiawah, we hope you reconsider coming back to the island. If you book through the resort, we will do our best to make sure you have a a great vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I went for a healthcare conference the first week of July. It is a cool and very big resort. The beaches are nice but crowded. There are nice restaurants there but they are pricey. i suggest you give into the near by towns , including charleston to eat. there is so much to do in charleston and the surrounding areas. great place for families and pet friendly too. They need more places for fishing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acarey453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been visiting Kiawah Island for years and just returned from a week's stay. We had a 3 bedroom/3 bath townhouse in Fairway Oaks, one of our favorite locations. As usual, everything was wonderful. Family friendly beach -- our little 2.5 year old found so many friends and we got together with the other families every day. The children had a great time playing with diggers and dump trucks and pails and shovels and the adults enjoyed the sun and the surf and the simplicity of Kiawah. We had dinner one evening at the Ryder Cup Bar, on the patio ... a perfect choice with a toddler! We watched the golfers coming in to the 18th hole, marveled at the pelicans and the ocean view, and enjoyed a great dinner! After eating, we walked for a bit on the totally deserted beach ... heaven!

I would recommend Kiawah Island to anyone looking for a quiet family vacation. I will say that it does help to know the area when choosing accommodations. We have a very good feel for the layout of the island, so we are never disappointed in our rental choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed villa in the East Beach area over the 4th of July. Very spacious with twin beds in the 2nd room and 2 full baths. Full kitchen with d/w. Washer/dryer in the unit were nice as everything was wet or sandy at the end of the day. Definitely rent bikes for the week. They deliver and pick them up from the villa. We biked to the pool, soccer field, beach and all around the island-ask for ones with baskets in the front to carry your beach supplies. You could walk to most places but it would be quite a walk to the beach and the trails all around the islands are beautiful. The pool isn't crowded, fun for younger kids with 2 slides, etc. The beach is hard-packed and huge when the tide is out. Boogie boarding is hit or miss depending on the surf- rent the boards from the beach crew if it seems good on your beach day, it's not worth renting ahead for the week. chartered a boat for inland fishing and caught sharks easily. Enjoyed many kid activities at the resort, all included. Drive to the grocery store in Fresh Fields Village to stock the fridge. Nice restaurants there too. We avoided the expensive restaurants at the resort and did the 45 min drive to Charleston for good Southern food. Skip the cookout at Mingy Point- too expensive for what you get. There is a store at the resort that sells all the essentials too. Our kids are 7 & 12.

Room Tip: 4523 was quiet, no view but centrally located. Plan to bike to the pool and beach. Some villas hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNmom535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family stayed at Kiawah during the July 4th holiday. We wanted to enjoy the July 4th festivites so we arrived one day earlier at stayed at a "premier" Windswept villa. Not impressed with the accommodations. For premier accommodations and the price, I would expect the place to be exceptional. We wanted to sit on the deck; however, I had to clean the tables and remove spider webs. Not sure if this is part of housekeeping but it does show neglect.

For the following day we moved to a "premier" Parkside villa. It appeared that housekeeping was not on top of things. The overn was on self-cleaning, food particles still on counter tops and table, the duvet cover had stains, and I found hair on the washcloth. When we ventured out on the enclosed deck, ceiling fans were filthy.

The high point of my trip was when I saw a big roach crawl under the door into the villa. I immediately spoke to the manager and they sent someone over for exterminating services. The next morning there were 2-3 more roaches lying on the floor.

Needless to say, I spoke to a manager and I checked out one day earlier than we had planned. For the amount of money that we paid, I expected to feel comforable in my environment. The managers were understanding but it was very discoraging since this was my first visit to the island. I had expected much more.

I also feel that the resort should hold their property owners accountable to premier standards.

I visited the Isle of Palms last summer and thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee-Tee518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,267 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Kiawah Island
#2 of 2 in Kiawah Island
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing