We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous island great golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“gorgeous island great golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

our large group of golfers descended upon kiawah island in april. there were over a hundred of us. the resort put us in a variety of villas, which we compared at length during our golf and social events. we two stayed in a nicely kept older unit owned by a couple who had decorated it with monkey-themed art and some pictures of themselves and their friends. there was no impersonal hotel feel at all. we felt as though we were staying in the vacation home of friends of friends. all the amenities were in place and we enjoyed the screened in sun room looking out to the trees, the tv, wifi, and kitchen. daily maid service left us feeling pampered in the bargain. we loved the staff. we loved the golf. the food was wonderful. we will be back. this is just a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Kiawah Island and everyone in our family loved it! We stayed in Windswept 4325. It is a well appointed condo with beautiful views and direct access to the beach. It was big enough for our family of 4 but I was disappointed with the tiny deck and no separation between the bathroom and the master bedroom! Very pleased that the unit came with beach chairs and even happier that the weather was nice and we got to use them! The NIght Heron pool was right across the street which was very convenient. The kids loved the pool and water park! They couldn't get enough. The food at the NIght Heron Grill was good and service by the pool was great! We rented bikes for the week and took full advantage of them riding on the beach, around the island and even took a long ride to Freshfields Village. Golf was fantastic and my husband especially loved the Ocean Course. The service throughout the resort was amazing! They make it so easy for you to enjoy your vacation and not worry about anything. Food was good at all the restaurants on the Island (some better than others). We did the Dolphin Excursion and was thrilled to see dolphins up close and learn about them and their habitat. I can't say enough about this resort! Everything was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you enjoy golf, outdoor activities, seaside life and want to do it in luxury and comfort, this is certainly one of the best options out there. Our group of 8 golfers has stayed at several high -end golf resorts throughout the south and west over the last 20 years and this was one of our favorites. Here are a few comments for consideration:

- Our group of 8 met at Kiawah from different parts of the country and all of us were able to make good connections into Charleston - accessible for a secondary air travel market. That said, if you are here for only a few days, you'll likely find it too long a drive (50 minutes door to door if you're realistic) to go into Charleston for a dinner or tourism. Understand you'll likely spend most of your time within the resort if it is a 3 day type vacation.
- Golf was terrific. All courses in resort type condition. Ocean Course is the magnet, but unlike some golf resorts we have visited, there was not a dog in the group. Would rank the non-Ocean courses: Turtle Point, Cougar, Osprey, Oak, but the differences aren't pronounced on course. Club House facilities best at Ocean, Osprey and Turtle.
- Accommodations: we stayed in Maritime villas. Spacious, well-furnished and equipped, newer than some other options on island. Among the best villas we have found anywhere. Having researched the various villa options, am convinced these are the best in the resort.
- Dining: Menus at each option are limited in terms of entrees, but there is variation in theme from facility to facility. High price -- was one of the aspects of the resort where the value (measured in context of other high end resorts) was questionable. The service was consistently slow -- table never ready at reservation time and time to entree after seating always approached 60 minutes. The worst of the bunch: the Italian themed location at Turtle Point. The best: lunch at Ocean Clubhouse.
- other ammenities: the running / biking trails, beach, kayaking, tennis, spa were all wonderful. Minor critiques: while the terrain is flat and you don't "need" them, would be better if rental bikes offered some more options beyond one-speed cruisers. The fitness room for the villas is tired and limited; the one in the Sanctuary hotel -- reserved for their guests - is newer but still limited for a resort of this size. The on-resort grocery -- very limited.
- Misc: the many options of the resort and the packages available provide a lot of variety. That also provides many opportunities for billing mishaps and misunderstandings. While Kiawah is certainly no worse than other resorts at handling these complexities, they haven't perfected it either. We encountered a few different reservation and billing glitches on our stay. Look over your bill and push for a manager with regard to any issues. The first answer we got on these minor issues and the last answer were different.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njkvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great time on the island and would definitely go back. We rented bikes and drove all around the island and had a great time. The food at each of the island restaurants was delicious from breakfast to dinner. We went in late April so the shops closed early and the slides weren't open so that was a bit disappointing but on the plus side, the island was quite and we practically had the beach to ourselves. Kiawah is a 30-minute drive to Charleston so it's close enough to spend the day there, which was quite fun. The horse and buggy tour was very entertaining and allowed you to see the area.

Room Tip: We stayed at 2377 Shipwatch. The owners were very nice and the place was extremely clean and nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The condominium we stayed in had beach decor and a fantastic screened in porch. We rented bikes which we used daily to ride on the beach or along the many bike paths on the island. We watched the sunset from the PGA Ocean Golf Course. The island is serene and felt like a slice of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to Kiawah for our annual guy's golf outing. Stayed at a 4bdm/4bath condo/town house located in the Windswept Villas of the East Beach Area.

We played the following courses:
Cougar Point, Turtle Point - 2 rounds, Osprey Point - 2 rounds, Oak Point and the famous Ocean Course. Golf and scenary was fantastic. A few of the gents in our foursome lost over 7 sleeves of balls. That doesn't include the balls they found on the course. If you are a high handicapper (24+) be forewarned.

A few general points:
1. Oak Point is a bit more of an open course and is located "off" the island. It's not grouped with the other four golf courses on the island.
2. Beware of the gators. I'm from the west and teeing off next to a 12 foot gator could be quite a challenge.
3. Bring bug spray. You've got loads of hungry mosquitos. Even the small gnats bite. Gnats a major problem if you have an early tee time, especially at Turtle Point.
4. Oak Point has only one shower for the gents and no real locker room. We ended our trip by playing Oak Point and immediately heading to Charleston to fly home. Showering and changing after a round was a bit challenging. Plan accordingly.
5. Ocean requires you to have a caddie or forecaddie. This way, they can maintain pace of play. Depending on the caddie you get, the experience on this course could be phenominal. Our other foursome had one good caddie and one so-so caddie.
6. Expect to lose golf balls on the Ocean Course. There are no OB, but do have a few water hazzards, but the notion of no OB is a mis-nomer. Yes, if you find it, you can play it, but good luck finding it. Especially if it's a windy day. This course gets windy.
7. As one would expect on a high end resort, staff around the entire resort from the restaurants to golf are wonderful but that comes with a price. It's expensive there.

Overall was a good time b/c with friends. I'm a high teens handicap. I would suggest for those over 20 wait until you get better to go here. This way, you can really enjoy the course for the $$$$ you spend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sm5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have visited Kiawah 6 or 7 times since 2002. I hate to tell people about it because I don't want it to become a crazy, busy beach spot. Everything here is so beautiful and peaceful. I can spend all day walking on the beach, riding bikes on the trails, go kayaking or just walking around taking pictures. It's a nature lovers paradise with the benefits of a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,267 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Kiawah Island
#2 of 2 in Kiawah Island
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: One Sanctuary Beach Drive, Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing