We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Tropic Oasis - just below the South's most Romantic - Charleston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Island Tropic Oasis - just below the South's most Romantic - Charleston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I can't recall the times I've returned to my Kiawah Island; that's right, mine. As a young lady with a new baby, as a mother of two, with grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins galore, our kids in tow, taking up two large island homes. And, dreamily, alone with my gorgeous husband on our own glorious getaway in romantic villa. Beautiful flowering things everywhere. Palms & palmetto, lush green island natural beauty, exotic birds, champaign & treat basket awaiting us. What seems like our own lagoon with its alligator we named Ralph as we watch (from the cozy distance of our screened in veranda) take his lazy morning swim. And the natural beautiful beaches so uncrowded & the gorgeous warm in August Atlantic. But have been there in spring & all months of summer. Sometimes lazy & goin nowhere but the beach; sometimes Charleston bound @ 25 or less miles it feels through a wonderful shortcut across another island for gourmet food & never-ending sites of the old city. Kiawah is another world. Golf, tennis, boating, it's own shopping square, which has turned into a glamorous, charming place. Do not miss Vincent's drugstore & soda fountain. Like stepping back to another time. The Spa Hotel has an exquisite dining room even if staying at a villa or condo outside it. We always use Kiawah Resort instead of other rentals because they are impeccable, they run the island, they are right there on island & they make us feel like movie stars - whatever we want, whenever we need it. The villas & condos they rent ate beautiful, stylishly up to date, so clean it's unreal. And they are lovely & sprawling.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    53
    29
    19
    13
See reviews for
124
109
4
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Landen, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in a 3 Bedroom villa in the turtle point area of the island. It was beautiful. We have been going for many years to Kiawah. The Mingo Point party is our favorite part of vacation each year. It was a wonderful year again this year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just finished a fabulous five night stay in the Parkside Villas in Kiawah Island Golf Resort during our Spring Break. It was a fantastic week! I can't say enough about this place! We thoroughly enjoyed biking on the beautiful 30 miles of oak canopied, paved bike trails and 10 miles of hard packed beach. We also enjoyed time at the tennis courts, one of their golf courses, volleyball court, and nature center. This time of year, while a little chilly, was wonderful because we felt like we had the resort to ourselves. We never had trouble getting court times, tee times, or seating in restaurants. Parkside Villas were a great choice for us because of their central location. Be sure to check out the pics for each villa on Kiawah's website to determine the villa that's best for you. Each villa is furnished by the owner, so quality of furnishing vary dramatically. The food we had at the Ryder Bar and Cherrywood's BBQ, both on property restaurants, was fantastic. Our 2 bedroom villa was incredibly reasonable since it was off-season, but I do think the hourly fee for tennis courts, as well as the greens fees were a bit steep, given the low demand. The beautiful bike trails and shelling and biking on the beach were definitely the highlight for our family. This is such a large development that I felt like you could spend weeks there and not see and do everything. The recreational opportunities are endless for all ages. We will definitely be back to visit this gem!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the website for pictures of each unit to choose the one that best suits your ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family stayed for a week over Spring Break. We had an incredible visit - The Sanctuary is beautiful and the Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and take care of your every need. For children we could not ask for a better experience - beautiful location, great pools, great food and most importantly, the nicest and friendliest staff we have ever experienced. The rooms are five-stars as is all of the services and amenities. We cannot say enough about how wonderful The Sanctuary is and will definitely be revisiting many times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I heard a lot positive things about the Kiawah Island Golf Resort and my first experience there lived up to all the hype! We stayed at the resort (villas) for a tennis tournament and had a wonderful experience. The grounds are lovely, the beaches are within walking distance and the accomdations were great! I will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Sanctuary is beautiful. The staff is outstanding...they can't do enough for you! One of the most amazing beaches I have ever seen! The hotel pool is wonderful and has an eating area. There is also an "adult" pool if you would like a bit more privacy. The food was outstanding both in the restaurant and when I ordered room service. I was on a golf trip so I played three courses on the island...Turtle Point, Osprey and the Ocean Course. The courses were incredible and the service and food at each was as good as at The Sanctuary itself.

Room Tip: Face the beach and the ocean...stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful retreat at The Sanctuary Hotel. Breathtaking views of the ocean from our balcony, 1st class service from every entity -- spa, pool, restaurants, bike rentals and golf courses. We definitely received the "royal treatment" by all. We cannot wait to return, but will extend our stay next time!!

Room Tip: Ocean View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.