We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary is our place for celebrating our Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Sanctuary is our place for celebrating our Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island is second to none. We return here yearly to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and the property and staff continue to exceed our expectations year after year. From being met by a bell man as we walked up the sidewalk to the property to check in, to being personally escorted to our room, you really are treated as if you're a very special guest at the Sanctuary. The onsite restaurants are fabulous, and the coffee roasted and selected just for the Sanctuary is definitely something you'll want to buy and take home with you. Kiawah Island is one of the most gorgeous beach resorts in the US, and the Sanctuary just takes it to another level. If you need to get away, if you love the beach, and if you want to stay in the nicest, most welcoming luxury resort in the US, go to the Sanctuary.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is worth the upgrade. Ask for an upgrade to a front room when you check in. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    54
    32
    21
    17
See reviews for
128
116
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I traveled here for a wedding and a weekend getaway. It was perfect. We stayed at the seascape villas and everything was perfect. We do not golf and there was plenty of other activities for us to do like tennis, wildlife watching, and water sports. We had easy access to the beach and a screened in back porch. In the morning we would sit on the screened porch and see deer and an assortment of birds. It was so quiet and peaceful. The wedding was at Mingo Point and was so beatiful. The food was amazing everywere we went and the staff was so knowledgable and friendly. The best part was that you could call a shuttle to come pick you up at your villa and it will take you anywhere on the island and you could use your room key as a credit card anywhere on the restort. This resort was perfect for a weekend getaway and it was so beautiful and romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you have ever booked a rental unit with no pictures and wondered what you would get, this unit was spectacular. Three bedrooms, three baths, completely equipt. We booked this unit for the Kiawah Island Marathon and were only looking for a place to sleep. Rate was resonable, so we said lets try it. Imagine our suprise at how nice it was. Kiawah Island Golf Resort manages it and they make sure everything is perfect. One bedroom with king bed, two others had twin beds and all had seperate bathrooms. Great kitchen and satelite TV in main room and all bedrooms. Lagoon behind unit and beach about 3 blocks away. Straw market and other places nearby. Large mall with grocery store just outside main gate. Would be great unit for family with kids. Not much of a view, but we went to the beach and it did not look like there is much to see if you had a beach view unit. I would definitly recommend looking into these units if your in the Charleston Kiawah Island area on vacation.

  • Liked — The staff for the marathon was wonderful.
  • Disliked — I didn't know pets were allowed,but I didn't ask, so it's my fault.
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here when we did the 2012 Kiawah Island half marathon. The person who checked us in and out (same person) was super nice - process was quick and easy. The condo we rented (in Windswept) was very well maintained and very clean. These condos are older - maybe 80's vintage - but they appear to have been updated on the inside and are very nice. Parking is not plentiful but with my wife spotting a hard to see but available space we were able to park relatively close to our condo. We got the partial ocean view, and true to it's name we could partially see the ocean - mostly because we were on the ground floor. A higher floor would have been better. We were a short walk to the race start line - only took us 5 minutes. That was a really good thing after the race.The regular checkout time is 10 am and since we were in the half marathon which started at 8 am (and we don't run 4 minute miles) we needed a late checkout. We got a 1 pm checkout no problem - plenty of time to finish the half, walk over to the beach and hang out for a while (our condo was VERY close to the beach), go back to our room, and shower and pack in time to drive back to the airport in Charleston and catch our flight home.
So...if it's so super awesome why the 4 dot rating? It's pricey...pretty much everything at the resort is pricey. After researching the resort restaurants we decided save ourselves a chunk of change and eat somwhere equally nice but significantly less expesive in Charleston before driving to the island - we were very glad that we did. If you're going to be there a few days you will want to purchase your groceries at the Piggly Wiggly - a nearby supermarket. Also, it's not obvious where the check in office is especially in the dark (unless you have night vision goggles and can speed read the small and poorly lit signage). Be ready for a bit of a drive from the security gate to the resort offices.
Finally, when I tried to book online nothing was available. I called thier direct line on the off-chance that the system was not completely up to date and found out that they had lot's of rooms available. I guess that for dates adjacent to the marathon you can only book a room over the phone.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best if you want to see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had an unexpected change in plans and brought our young kids along with us to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The staff at the Sanctuary went above and beyond, starting with chilled champagne, rose petals on the bed, and a beautiful ocean view, to provide us with the opportunity to still have a romantic and special weekend. Our lives have been very hectic recently and walking into the Sanctuary was like stepping into a complete oasis of tranquility and opulence. As has been said before, "no detail is overlooked". Thank you for creating a wonderful weekend for all of us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've been coming to Kiawah for almost 30 years and it never disappoints us. It is not a place for the "budget" minded. That said, you will find that no detail has been overlooked. You get what you pay for. The ocean is beautiful and it is amazing how uncrowded the beach is. The Island has so many bike trails and is so biker friendly. I can't imagine staying at Kiawah and not renting a bike. There is now a bike path that will take you all the way to the Freshfields Market.

Room Tip: View individual villas online and see beforehand your choices. It makes choosing a room much easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have visited the Sanctuary several times and continue to believe that this property offers the best mix of high end luxury with family needs (ie children). The hotel is perfectly located on the ocean and has a beautiful lawn and adult/family pools. It blends in well with the general landscape of the island.

Room Tip: Paying a bit more for ocean view is definitely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
0.5 mi away
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
10.0 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
22.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 6 in Isle of Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,100 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
16.0 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.