We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Kiawah!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved Kiawah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our two days at Kiawah were simply beautiful. We stayed at one of the ocean-view Shipwatch condos with another couple. The accommodations were perfect; there was ample privacy and space at the condo for four of us, and the kitchen (which we hardly used) was nicely appointed and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the great breakfasts at The Southern Kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    53
    29
    19
    14
See reviews for
124
109
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We love Kiawah and have been going there since early 80s. Its a great resort, with fine golf, great beach and fine service generally, though we never have thought the food service/quality is up to the rest of the experience.

The Ocean Course, even with its surcharge, was in great shape is still a great experience and our forecaddie Donovan was best we've had (even compared with good ones in Scotland, American Club and Bandon). Osprey needs more tlc.

Over the years, we've stayed at various Villas and the Sanctuary. This trip began as a 2 night 4 guy golf trip, though that was changed when a participant was injured a few days before. Kiawah was easy to deal with and my wife and just rearranged the trip into a couples trip.

The only problem we experienced was that we thought the Seascape villa we stayed in was substandard. There were no shears on the rear window (raising a privacy issue), the bathroom was too small, fabric couch and bedspread were pretty ratty, we found/killed a single giant cockroach in the kitchen and the rocking chairs on the porch were too dirty to use.

Upon checking out we found that we could have upgraded very easily/cheaply to a better accommodation so we'll check that out next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed at many "first class resorts", the Greenbrier, the Biltmore in AZ, and the Princeville in Kauai, but this is by far the most First Class. The attention to details was impecible. We played Turtle Point Golf Course and the Osprey course. Both were beautiful. A two night stay with 36 holes of golf is not enough time to enjoy the other outstanding amenties.Dining at Tomasso's and the Ocean Room was outstanding

Room Tip: An ocean front room is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The resort is stunning though like other reviewers the limited places to eat and a bit pricey stop at the grocery story before you get on the island
I wish a knew the layout of the property when I made the reservation I did know our "townhouse" was in an hotel style building I spoke with the resort booking agent it was our first time to the resort and she could have offer other alternatives
I thought we would be able to walk out our unit and to the beach which I mention to her man times not expecting to be on the 4th floor the pictures And description did not mention the location
For the location an unit we overpaid and probably could have booked something nicer on vacation by owner
We played 3" of the golf courses and met some very nice people and even play another round with a resident for our 3rd round. Our first round was at the ocean course we had a fore caddie between the 4 of us even though we did it know the 2 others we played with I thought we should have had another fore caddie. Maybe the time of year 1per person. Along with the following round we found out he didn't clean our clubs we had a great time with him and tipped him very well so I was surprised at this.
We will definitely be back, stay at the east beach in a villa!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was here on a business trip but could see what a great place this could be for a vacation. Our villa was spectacular. We were right on the water and the golf course. The villa was well appointed, fun decor and roomy. We had a fantastic patio that served as wonderful gathering place. The beach is simply beautiful. Long wide and flat. The perfect place for a long walk and beachcombing. The entire place is well landscaped and impeccably maintained. I would highly recommend this place for a family or a group of friends.

Make sure to rent bikes for your stay as the place is spread out and you will want a bike to get around.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a first experience at Kiawah island, my son was in a wedding there. We stayed at a one bedroom villa at Seascape which was beautifully decorated, clean and comfy. I found it to be pricy but had no choice due to the wedding being there. We bought a few groceries at the Market which were outrageously priced; Cheerios $7.99, small container of ice cream $7.00, total came to $63.00. The beach was clean, beautiful and great for walking or biking on the packed sand. The landscaping is lush surrounded by golf courses and various waterways. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent another fabulous week at Kiawah Island. We love visiting here because the Island is beautifully maintained, there is lots to do even if you do not golf, and Charleston, a most beautiful old city full of culture and history, is only a half hour drive away. We enjoyed the beach; and the pools are fabulous. The new children's pool is fantastic - so much for the little ones, and their parents, to enjoy. The nature outings are great. Did the hunt for alligators and saw some good size ones, as well as some babies. Also did the boat tour on the Kiawah River in the hunt for dolphins and this trip was fantastic and well worth the cost. Saw the dolphins 'strand feed' twice, something that is only found on Kiawah Island and one place in Georgia. An absolutely awesome sight. We stayed in a villa which was beautifully maintained, clean and more than adequate for our needs; and only about a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the pools. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with your needs. There are miles and miles of bike paths so if you rent a bike for your stay, you will have plenty of places to ride and explore - a great way to see the Island.

Room Tip: The villas offer the option to make some of your own meals if you so desire; and the market is not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.