We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the great hospilitality and will be back for more golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kiawah Island Golf Resort to your Saves list
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
albuquerque
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“love the great hospilitality and will be back for more golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The first thing is is you are flying in make sure you get a air line that want be late and get you there on time and before dark.. its nice to have light to get to know your surroundings.which makes it easier the nxt morning..

Room Tip: ask for the ocean side of the property.. we ended up on the of the entrance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    52
    28
    17
    13
See reviews for
120
108
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

Once again exceeded all expectations. There are only two answers when you ask a question of the staff at the Sanctuary. 1. Yes or 2. Let me see what I can do to make that happen for you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We visit Kiawah Island Resort 1 to 3 times a year and have for the past 3 years.

Many "deluxe" units are very nice, comfortable, functional and attractive, but do fall short of 5 star quality. If you are into the current technology tvs and alarm clocks, wifi, or swanky decor..travertine tile bathrooms and glass enclosed double showers, you need to request premier...which is 5 star.

We have never experienced any problem, bugs, or poor conditions in Windswept ocean front and Windswept 2-story on the lagoon, or Ship Watch ocean front and you can happily go to the beach without passing the arrogant and elitest (sorry not a real word, but you know what I mean) Sanctuary or property owners clubs.

I love taking my kids to Kiawah...it just can't be beat for overall value in my children's activities and experiences. The natural appearance of the island is uncommon and gorgeous.

The only restaurants on the resort that we like are Town Center Market, Tomasso's and the Ryder Cup Bar.

I did not give Kiawah Resort 5 stars, because it does take a little work dealing with employees to get the exact vacation experience we want and need for us to have a smooth trip especially with small children.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The location is goregous. The customer service is fantastic. THere are many activities for families with children of various ages. We would certainly return

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

the bed was below that luxury price, you can find better in a very average hotel. check again and again your statement before you checking out, because they charged me some extras and some surcharges of golf that were already included in my rate and i spent almost one hour at the reception to correct them, was almost missing our flight...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

It was our 30th anniversary. The staff went out of their way to ensure it was enjoyable and highly memorable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I usually visit Kiawah once/twice a year. He golfs, I beach and spa. This trip we visited with another couple who were anxious to make the trip based on what we told them about the island resort. Right off the bat, their "oohs" and "ahs" just driving in to this lush paradise made us laugh. They were hooked. We stayed in a two bedroom villa and spent three nights/three full days of golf, beach, and spa along with terrific dinners and drinks and laughs. The time whizzed by and then we were packing to go home. Our friends are already asking if we would consider a return trip soon where we'd each bring our teenage boys. Sounds good to me!

Room Tip: Villas are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 12 Kiawah Beach Dr., Kiawah Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiawah Island Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.