We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiawah Island

Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A major golf course, beautiful beaches and miles of conservation land make this private island a desirable attraction.
Mass
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First time vacationing on Kiawah. Heaven on earth in September! Rented a villa .. ocean views ... beach is endless ., shell hunting, bird sightings, dolphins, friendly people!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PilgrimBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax with minimal commercialism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've been at Kiawah many times over the years and I'm always impressed with the beauty and the total lack of commercialism. A little on the pricy side, but well worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vkngprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful relaxing island with the most gorgeous bike trails and not overly commercial!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want to relax, ride bikes along picturesque trails and lounge at the beach, this is the place! The tennis facilities are wonderful with lots of clinics to choose from! One of my favorite beach vacation sites!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Kiawah is a private island. Only guest on the island are allowed through the gates. There are many condominiums for weekly rental. There are several world class golf courses on the island and tennis courts. The beach stretches for miles and is uncrowded. The rentals are a bit pricey but worth it for your privacy. Great place for families. A great place to relax. Very quiet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
“Great place for beach walkers, golfers and bikers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding at Mingo Point on Kiawah Island. Many guests stayed on the island. They all enjoyed the setting and the hospitality. We had a great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee73072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiawah Island also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kiawah Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing