We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in mountain paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assiniboine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assiniboine Lodge
Save
You added Assiniboine Lodge to your Saves list
56 Lincoln Park, PO Box 8128 | Canmore, AB, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3 nights in mountain paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mt. Assiniboine is a mountain paradise! I recently flew in with friends on a bluebird day. The fun began on our flight in...all we could see for miles and miles was snow capped mountains sparkling in the spring sunshine.When we landed and I stepped out of the chopper the beauty of the area took my breath away. We were immediately welcomed into our "home away from home" by our awesome hosts, Claude, Andre and Annick. The next 3 days we spent x-country skiing, snow-shoeing and playing outside in the spring sunshine. Late in the afternoon we headed back to the lodge for yummy snacks and a cold beer on the lodge porch with our hosts and the other guests. The food was scrumptious! In the evenings we played games and chatted by the fire until it was time to snuggle under our duvets in our cozy cabin. I was blown away by the variety of ski terrain and activities available at the lodge. As well as skiing, we snow showed, went for a moonlight ski, and some of the kids even went ice fishing. Thanks to our hosts and the lodge staff for making us all feel so welcome! I can't wait to go back with my whole family!

Room Tip: The newly renovated cabins are lovely - bright and sunny with big new windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing can make you feel more healthy and alive than the crisp mountain air, stunning views, and friendly staff filling you up with gourmet food and drink after a day of exploring in the mountains and relaxing in the sauna.

The duvets are like warm clouds for peaceful sleep in the cozy cabins, the beef tenderloin was ridiculously tender and tasty and the mountain guides tailor to every level of adventure.

Stories of this remote backcountry location (accessible by 10 minute helicopter ride or 25 km hike/ski) and the deeply powerful energy there will stay with you forever.

Room Tip: Go for the cabins either for romance or a family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mt. Assiniboine Lodge is the perfect destination for cross- and back-country skiing. My husband and I spent a weekend here about a month ago - choppered in and out from Canmore - and we could not have had a better stay. The weather was lovely, about -4 to -10 C each day, and the fresh snow was beautiful. Powder skiing at its best.

We hadn't expected that each day would be fully guided, but it was. Claude & Andre and the staff at the lodge were great, tailoring each morning's or afternoon's ski to be exactly as we desired. The food was quite good, and the cabins are exceptionally comfortable. We stayed in the Cautley cabin, which is a little further away from other cabins, but it is the only queen bed on the premises (all others are double or twin).

This is a perfect resort for couples or families who like to ski. We can't wait to return in the summer or early fall to see this pristine, beautiful lodge in another season.

Room Tip: Cautley Cabin has a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family of four wanted to celebrate winter over February break. The beauty of Mt. Assiniboine takes your breath away! A gem of a spot. And what an adventure! Short helicopter ride in (thrilling for our 10 and 13 year olds). Our very own log cabin. EXCELLENT FOOD and plenty of it. A sauna with perhaps the world's greatest view. Outhouses (there is a toilet in the main lodge when dining there).

What makes Assiniboine unique? You don't bring your cell phone or computer here. Instead, you take cross country ski treks (back country gear recommended, but we used regular cross country gear for our family, for the shorter excursions we planned), use avalanche peeps for the kids to find buried treasure (cookies!), do a gentle excursion to Baroness Lizzie Rummel's hut on Sunburst Lake, build snow forts and have snowball fights, or laze about the lodge one day playing cards and Settlers of Catan (we brought ours)--all while reconnecting to each other.

As breakfast and lunch are served family style, you also meet very interesting people who value Nature and getting away from it all.

The staff is personable and attentive. They have enough guides so that you only do treks at your comfort level, which I really appreciate! The main lodge has plenty of books about mountains and mountain culture, if you need a read while there.

We hope to go back many times to this wonderful spot. Eager to try it in the summertime.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the individual cabins. Really, they are only a two to four minute walk from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just back from a few days at the newly renovated Assinibione Lodge. The heli flight in is spectacular, as is the lodge setting. The log lodge is a historic building with spacious communal dining room and lounge areas. Expect small bedrooms with thin walls in the lodge itself. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and supplied with warm duvets. The price includes guided snowshoeing or ski tours designed for any skill level. No need to be an expert. The rolling subalpine meadows and alpine summits offer many possibilities and wonderful snow. The staff are knowledgable and gracious. The food is excellent and plentiful. There are hot showers and a sauna with a view of Wonder Peak. Be prepared for an outhouse; it is still the back country but Assiniboine Lodge and surrounds is some of the best back country Canada has to offer. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Cabins are a bit more expensive but offer more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Can't wait to visit this winter. Mt. Assiniboine is a spectacular peak and the views from everywhere, the lodge, the cabins, the hikes, are all incredible. My family visited here in early July and loved it. Our son caught his first fish, he met many new friends. We had spectacular meals with an attentive and friendly team of staff. It is obvious how much they love being there and they welcomed us like long lost relatives. If you are looking for a total escape to a place of natural wonder and remarkable heritage, don't miss the chance to visit this peace of heaven on earth. Looking forward to winter discoveries soon.

Room Tip: Every corner of this place has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I have been to Assiniboine Lodge twice, and just spent 4 nights there last week. It is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The helicopter trip in/or out is a thrill, and the hiking is plentiful (as is the XC skiing in winter, though we haven't tried it). Reading some of the other comments here, I think it's important not to expect luxury. This is an historic property in a very remote location: the lodge rooms are fine, but small and with thin, permeable walls and squeaky floors. The cabins offer more privacy but have less convenience. There are NO en suite bathrooms, so factor that in to your thinking.

But these are all small conveniences to be in one of the most magnificent places on the planet. See my photo attached of the area taken less than a week ago. Amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Assiniboine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiniboine Lodge

Address: 56 Lincoln Park, PO Box 8128 | Canmore, AB, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiniboine Lodge is Canada's first backcountry ski lodge that has kept its historic charm. It is set in a remote mountain setting amongst some of the world's most spectacular peaks. Mt. Assiniboine is the lodge's sentinel, watching over all who venture to this remarkable place. Known as the Matterhorn of the Canadian Rockies, Mt. Assiniboine is the highest point in the area. Whether you are skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, walking or simply taking in the majesty of this place, we will ensure your time here is a luxurious escape. No phones, no flat screens, no connectivity. Simply you and nature. We look forward to welcoming you to this magical place we are so lucky to call HOME!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Assiniboine Hotel Canmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiniboine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.