We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more a hut than a lodge, but what an incredibly beautiful site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Assiniboine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assiniboine Lodge
Save
You added Assiniboine Lodge to your Saves list
Box 8128 | Canmore, AB, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
great brak river RSA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“more a hut than a lodge, but what an incredibly beautiful site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in Assiniboine in end July 2012. The new owners just started in June, so there are great hopes for accommodation improvements. The helicopter trip is an absolute marvel, although departure point not well signposted. Staff is extremely kind and welcoming, but accommodation is more that of a national park hut than of an upmarket lodge. Cabins are well positioned and offer minimum comfort: a wash basin, and a hot bucket delivered at your door first hour morning. Food was superb. Only one collective shower for men, one for women, this under the bare minimum. But the scenery, the kindness of the staff and guides and the quality of food are there to leave a memorable print in each of us. The bill too...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After being re married at Lake O'Hara this August, we travelled to the Mt Shark heliport for the exciting heli trip into Mt Assiniboine Lodge for our two night / three day honeymoon. Two friends, Pierre and Kelly Lee from Ontario, joined us at Lake O'Hara and Mt Assiniboine Lodge and Provincial Park.

Having riden helicopters many times in the past, it was exciting for me to see this 8 minute flight through Margaret's neophyte helicopter eyes. Exciting, fast and safe, it was GREAT ! The support staff at both ends of the flight were well prepared and well versed in the needs of both the guests and the safety of the flight crew.
It just so happened, that the official Reopening of the Lodge, was occuring just after we arrived so we were able to listen to interesting speakers and stories of the history of the lodge over the last 100 years or so. The new leasees are the third in the long family line of operators.

The entire lodge has been revamped by Parks BC over the last year. Moving the lodging part, refurbishing the logs in both the main building and the residents' building and then putting the entire complex on a firm foundation. They did a great job. The place is like new after decades of use. Aaaand, they have a composting toilet for your use and enjoyment.

We spent three days hiking, viewing landscapes, walking high ridges and low meadows on well defined trails that are very well signposted and distance set on the signs. The wild flowers were profuse and vivid. They were everywhere.
In a word, especially for families, and even with little people of 4 or 5 years in age, this a great place. If you are into high mtn pitons and death defying drops, you can do that activitiy. If you want meadow walks and meadow flowers, you can do that and/or walk the ridges either guided or non guided day trips.

Our foursome went out to Windy Ridge for the full day hike. I chose to walk into Og Pass and into the adjacent National Park only to find on my return, that the area was / is Restricted access due to Grizzly activity. Oops. But no signs off trail to indicate any such restrictions.
I was very fortunate to find, laying in the heather and sedge grasses, a 40 lb rock with approximately 35 or 40 fossiles protruding from the rock. It is the most amazing fossil rock I have ever found in some serious hunting in BC / Alberta and the NWT's.
After a 6.5 km carry back to the Lodge, I learned that such rocks cannot be removed from Provincial Parks. News to me, so I donated the fossil rock to the Assiniboine Lodge folks who now have it settled over the fire place mantel in the dining room. Check it out, it's still in the provincial park.
The huts adjacent to the Lodge are wonderful for greater privacy than the lodge rooms. And then, if you don't want the "Lodge / hut " experieince, you can check out the Nissan Huts. $25 / person / day, a common cooking cabin very well stocked and you can fly in and out, your gear and your feet if you choose. Great for families and little folks as well.

Margaret and Kelly Lee walked out through Wonder Pass and down past Marvel Lake back to the parking lot. But . . . it was the wrong parking lot, The heliport was another 2 km further, and up hill. Ooops and ouch after about the previous 25 km walk out.

All in all, a very great experience for our 2nd time around honeymoom under the full moom those nights as well.
What a life.

Room Tip: A suggestion for you the traveller, if you had a film camera, take lots and lots of film. Since we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This place is a rare gem of hospitality and location. The same family has been running it for over 20 years and possesses the knowledge and lore of the location to provide guests with amazing hospitality and a very fine outdoor experience. I have been here multiple times and my family has partaken in its splendor since it opened. Bring your boots, your walking sticks (or skis if in winter) and your passions for great vistas, wildlife, wild flowers and wild tranquility.

The Internet wifi is lousy because, thankfully, there is none - and no cell coverage either. Electricity to charge your devices is available only in the lodge.

If you don't enjoy the outdoors and don't tolerate the privations of the wilderness, don't consider this place. Leave it for those who do.

Room Tip: The walls in the lodge rooms are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 3days/2nights recently at the Mt. Assiniboine Lodge in British Columbia. The entire experience was exhilarating. Starting with the helicopter flight in from Canmore, Alberta, the views passing over numerous peaks and valleys was breathtaking leading to a thrilling landing on a helo pad high in the Canadian Rockies. We were escorted from the pad by one of the lodge staff while our luggage was transported to our room. The lodge has several rooms in a main building and several out cabins - we chose to stay in one of the cabins. Couldn't have made a better choice. The main building also houses the dining area where breakfast and dinner are served daily and a buffet is set up for making lunches. Our cabin was outstanding - a large, somewhat primitive, one room log cottage with a comfortable queen-sized bed and a twin. Only cold water is available in the cabin but a shower/sauna building with hot water is nearby. Hot water is brought in a bucket to the cabin every morning as well. The meals served in the dining area were superb, even more so considering the challenge of cooking in such a remote environment. The lunch buffet was substantial. No one goes away hungry. By far, the most impressive part of the experience was the opportunity to experience the amazing rugged scenery and wildlife that surrounds the lodge. Impossible to describe in words, hopefully the attached photos help. Lots of hikes available for hikers of any ability from strolls through meadows to scrambles up steep mountain slopes. Good fishing in the area as well. The staff was fabulous and each day, guided hikes are offered for those unaccustomed to the area. All in all, if your looking for an unusual adventure, somewhat rustic but with some very sophisticated touches, not to mention a wild ride in and out via helicopter, this is the trip to do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Assiniboine Lodge. This was our second trip there. The Renners who manage the lodge our amazing. Everything is so well organized and their knowledge of the mountains, the flora, fauna and history is second to none. This is truly a jewel of the Canadian Rockies.

The food at the lodge was great. There is not a selective menu, rather incredible food is brought out on platters for the tables. After a day of hiking everything was excellent. If you want lots of choice on a menu than stay in Calgary.

This time we stayed in a cabin. What a great experience! Eash cabin has a sink with cold, and I mean cold, water. The bathroom is an outhouse. This said warm showers are available in the shower building which also has a sauna. None of this was an issue and infact added to the whole experience.

I understand that next summer the lodge will not be open due to the need to renovate portions of it. This is a real loss as I think we will becoem annual visitors to Assiniboine Lodge.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We spent 3 nights in Mount Assiniboine Lodge and 2 nights in one of the private cabins. Sepp, Barb, Andre and the staff did an amazing job with the fantastic food, incredible guided hikes and making us feel like family in this world class locale. If it is a once in a lifetime opportunity or an annual retreat, here is a place everyone should experience!
There will be many fond memories of waking up to a gourmet breakfast, packing your custom lunch for the day out hiking, returning for an afternoon tea and sauna before an exquisitely prepared supper and later retiring to a snug and cozy log cabin, a bottle of wine in hand with these incredible mountains as the back drop.

What an experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at the lodge August 23rd for 3 nights. The minute I stepped off the helicopter I knew this was a special place. We stayed in a lodge room (Glacier Lily) which was small with a double bed but was adequate for the two of us. The room was clean and there was a hot/cold water sink outside our room and a shower and flush toilet downstairs. However, the next time I visit, I will stay in one of the cabins as they are much bigger and the views from the porch are incredible. The lodge rooms can be a little noisy as the walls are very very thin. Most of the lodge guests were sleeping by 10am and up by 7am for breakfast at 8am. The cabins have only cold running water and a walk to the central shower house which was spotless and a separate outhouse. The weather was perfect, the food and staff were excellent. We went on two easy/moderate hikes with the same guide on both days. We hiked to Wonder Pass and view and the next day hiked to Nublet and around Elizabeth Lake. We had an opportunity to speak with Sepp and he said that the lodge will close for the 2011 season for renovation (logs rotting) and reopen in 2012 with electricity. They were building a hydro plant near the lake when we were there. I'm not sure I agree with putting in electric as this is supposed to be a backcountry lodge and it might take away from the charm. Overall we had a wonderful time and plan to return. If you have any questions, please contact me.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assiniboine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiniboine Lodge

Address: Box 8128 | Canmore, AB, Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia T1W 2T8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiniboine Lodge is Canada's first backcountry ski lodge that has kept its historic charm. It is set amongst some of the earth's most spectacular peaks. Mt. Assiniboine is our sentinel, watching over the lodge and is considered the Matterhorn of the Canadian Rockies. Whether you are skiing, snowshoeing, touring, hiking, walking or simply taking in the majesty of this place, we will ensure your time here is a luxurious escape. No phones, no flat screens, not connectivity. Simply us and nature. We look forward to welcoming you to this magical place we are so lucky to call HOME!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Assiniboine Hotel Canmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiniboine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.