We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood atmosphere -- great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy's Red Sky Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lucy's Red Sky Grill
1001 Landfall Way, Johns Island, SC 29455
843-768-8118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Neighborhood atmosphere -- great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were here twice in late May. Lots of food choices with an emphasis on seafood. You'll find Lucy (the owner) overseeing things most days -- maybe that's why everything runs so smoothly. The staff is friendly and fast. The food is really excellent...even the steak -- "don't get steak in a fish place" does not apply here. Not stuffy--a few of the restaurants are insufferable down in this area (Island House--the main restaurant at the Club on Seabrook--and Hege's, are two examples)--too impressed with themsleves to hone in on you and your needs--but NOT at Lucy's. Always lots of specials. We come back to this restaurant year after year on vacation. It is our favorite in Seabrook Island area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

As other reviewers said Lucy's is casual and "relaxed". We were there on a Tuesday so it was not crowded or too noisy.
Salads were excellent, especially the fried oysters salad. These were tender and did not taste "greasy". The Sangria was very good with enough red wine to balance the fruit juices.
My wife had a halibut special with capers and white wined served over polenta but the corn meal was almost "custard" soft. I liked the Southwestern Chicken and Seafood Stew. It has chicken, chorizo, fish, shrimp, scallops and mussels in a spicy but not too hot pepper, corn and tomato broth. The very large portions made for great take home lunches the next day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casual vibe... excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were staying in Kiawah and wanted to be a little more casual without sacrificing food quality. This was the perfect place! Highlight was grouper and sweet potato soup special - never heard of these ingredients together but it was truly delicious! All of our entrees, from fish to scallops to spaghetti were great. Nice service and a friendly, fun vibe. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake norman,cornelius,nc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Love the quality and choice of entrees. Great choices and nice selection of wines and drinks. Love the setting with local artwork on walls,cozy bar area. Every time I'm in Kiawah I HAVE to come here for my Lucy fix!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner and met Lucy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were staying at the Sanctuary Hotel for my husband's 65th birthday. The hotel is very high end and my husband is not. He's all about golf. So I received good recommendations about Lucy's Red Sky Grill and it was great. It is a short drive off Kiawah Island, very easy really and is in a nice area. There was music that night (Sunday) it was loud but we were far enough away to enjoy our meal. I was delighted with the restaurant. It is casual with lots of local families enjoying themselves, which was OK with us (Actually it was Easter week so keep that in mind). The food was good and reasonable for the area. The drinks were reasonable as well. Lucy is a hands on owner and made sure we were happy and I like that as opposed to resorts where you don't know who is responsible. If you want to go off resort for a casual meal this is the place. The Conceirge at the Sanctuary recommended the restaurant but I had already made a reservation from my Trip Advisor friends. Thanks and give her a try but remember that it is a casual restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Red Sky Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy's Red Sky Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.