We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Experance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JB's Smokeshack

JB's Smokeshack
3406 Maybank Hwy, Johns Island, SC 29455-4820
(843) 557-0426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 56 Restaurants in Johns Island
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Description: We do have plates and sandwich available but the best value is the buffet, you get to try a little of everything and to those who don't want that much I will say "it's not a contest , it just gives you the variety" come see us and get some good low country comfort food J.B.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“American Experance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was really good and cute. Amazing food and just a really authentic feel. Great place to eat after seeing the angle tree.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Proctorville, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This small restaurant is very surprising. We had all the great food we could eat for just $12.50. The ribs were phenomenal. It was packed with local people when we were there on May 18. There is just one problem. JBs is only open from Wednesday through Saturday in May so we were not able make a return trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had read some reviews of this place and was looking forward to it but was totally disappointed! I should have known when we pulled up and didn't smell any smokey bar-b-que smell that it wasn't going to be great! It is a small place and has a lot of different things for sale set up sort of buffet style. The food looked like it had sat for quite a while and the bar-qued stuff was dry and sort of tasteless. We won't be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Look forward to it every year!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

For 8 years, we have been coming to Kiawah, and every year we look forward to a trip to JB's!
The all you can eat buffet ($11.50, includes iced tea) is the best deal around. The staff is friendly, and the family style eating means that we often meet people from all over (this year, we chatted with a gentleman from Serbia), as there are no strangers at JB's.
The best advice I can give, is to remember to save room for the banana pudding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal we had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This restaurant was just what we were looking for, great local food at an affordable price. As others have mentioned, it is very basic but its so good! We all (two adults and two kids 10 and 12 yrs) had thebuffet and went round quite a number of times! The staff were also great, very nice and friendly. We were staying on Kiawah Island and had a couple of other meals out in local places which were way way more expensive and not as good or as fun. Our only regret was not finding out about JBs until close to the end of our stay which prevented us from going a second time as they are only open Weds-Sat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's Smokeshack also viewed

 
Johns Island, SC
Johns Island, SC
 

Been to JB's Smokeshack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JB's Smokeshack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.