We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Accountable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosebank Farms Cafe' - CLOSED

Rosebank Farms Cafe'
1886 Andell Bluff Blvd, Johns Island, SC 29455-6301
843-768-1807
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always Accountable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been coming to Rosebank Farms Café since 1995 and wouldn't miss a meal there whenever we are in town. This is traditional low country fare - not fancy or fine dining - just good food in a friendly atmosphere. Our last visit included fried oysters and the peach tea brined pork tenderloin - oysters were plump and perfectly cooked, pork tenderloin was juicy and nicely seasoned. We also enjoy their fried chicken - a great choice for "take out"!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    27
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Low country Cookin' at it's best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stopped by Rosebank's on a recommendation when visiting the beaches surrounding Charleston. We were told this place had real low country cooking and I wanted to try fried green tomatoes while in Charleston. I had the fried chicken, fried green tomatoes and sweet potato fries. This is more fried food than I have had in the last 20 years of my life! I was surprised when the fried chicken was a boneless chicken breast. The fried green tomatoes did not have any flavor. Definitely not like my mom's! The sweet potato fries were tasty and were sprinkled with a slight amount of cinnamon sugar - just the right amount. The service was excellent and the hostess was a hoot! All in all, the food was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Better choices available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Average food, short drinks, loud. we were disappointed. service was slow and confused. glasses of wine were fine but scotch was a very short pour. Fried fish platter was overbreaded and she crab soup bland. Over all. Less than average.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced, under seasoned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had high hopes for a delicious lunch so near to a high end development. The best thing about our meal was the beer. She crab soup was floury tasting with no crab. We asked our server if the food was local, which they advertise, and it was definitely not fresh. I asked if the fried shrimp was lightly battered, she assured us it was, and, it was not. I never cook with salt, but I liberally added it today! I attended the Culinary Institute of America and been in restaurants for years. I would not return here, even for a freebie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh, southern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us and it lived up to the expectations. It is a low key place with fresh, good food. Loved the shrimp & grits, fried fish platter and even the kids chicken strips! Everything is home-made and from their farm and you can taste it! Don't forget to order dessert!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosebank Farms Cafe' also viewed

Johns Island, SC
Johns Island, SC
 
Johns Island, SC
Johns Island, SC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebank Farms Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.