We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red's Ice House

Red's Ice House
1882 Andell Bluff Blvd., Johns Island, SC 29455
843-518-5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 56 Restaurants in Johns Island
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: This restaurant is on the approach to Seabrook Island, near Kiawah, South Carolina. A fun restaurant with great inexpensive food.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“AVERAGE...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

An easy place for families, but disorganized seating and mediocre food. Fish not fresh, decent service, beautiful view. There's a party scene here, and the food is almost an afterthought. It's a shame that the food isn't better; the location is wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    62
    41
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After our disater at Rosebank Farms, we walked down to Red's...the burgers were delicious, great view and prompt and friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My fiance and I went here for dinner with my parents while vacationing in Kiawah Island. Only a short drive from there and very worth it. It had a good mix of locals and tourists. The food was simple and good- but make sure you like seafood or you'll have a harder time finding something. Highly recommand going at sunset over the salt marsh and while having dinner. Then go up stairs where there's an additional bar and they have live music at times. Would say it's def family friendly and casual dinning.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun dining at Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Two of us dined for lunch at Red's near seabrook Island for lunch. Very nice table overloooking the Marina.....cold beer, wonderful burger and grilled shrimp and engaging waitstaff. They have PBR for $2 all day. We had to have a couple to remember days in college!!! Highly recommended...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The view is gorgeous. The spicy crab dip was very good. I had a grouper sandwich and have major questions about what type of fish was in there. The lobster roll was good as well. The price point was appropriate which is hard to find in this area. I would return...just not order the mystery fish sandwich.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Ice House also viewed

Johns Island, SC
Johns Island, SC
 
Johns Island, SC
 

Been to Red's Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red's Ice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.