We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acme Lowcountry Kitchen

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
31 J C Long Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2216
+1 843-886-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
cuckfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visiting the isle of palms for the first time from the UK, we were advised to eat at Acme. We were not disappointed, great food, I had the trio, fillet steak, lobster tails and lump crab cake, delicious. My wife had the shrimp special, she was particularly impressed with the grits.
Staff were super efficient and friendly, a very good experience.
Went back twice more and enjoyed it just as much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! Glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed Acme enough to visit three times. That is awesome! Thank you so much! Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    204
    54
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We ate at this restaurant once for dinner and once for breakfast during our last weeklong stay at the Isle of Palms. The food was tasty and reasonably priced both times. The once caution is that we encountered a fair amount of pepper in just about every dish at dinner, so if that is a problem for you, you may just want to skip lunch and dinner and just have breakfast here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Glad yall enjoyed everything. I will have to inquire with Chef about the pepper as this is something I have not heard in a long while. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Second visit was a must"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast, we thought would be run of the mill, but we were pleasantly surprised by the not your ordinary menu. Grits to die for, filet mignon benedict w/ parmesan truffle homefries, really awesome. Petra was great, and showed us the dinner menu, Thought about it all day and planned on going back for dinner. Wendy was also wonderful and recommended the sheepshead w/ peaches and cream grits. AWESOME like eating whipped cream ! Can't wait till next spring to see whats on the menu then.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and dinner with us! I will pass the good word on to Petra and Wendy! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a transformation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had not been here in years and went on the recommendation of friends. Dined on April 15 and were just blown away. The building itself is unassuming however the food is gourmet quality. Had their signature succotash with locally caught fresh fish; just delicious. I could have licked the bowl. Nice beer and wine selection as well. Our server, Shawna, was great and obviously enjoys working here. Would definitely return and a great place to bring out of towners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words. Yes we are a completely different restaurant from a few years ago. So glad you enjoy the changes! Glad you liked the succotash and beer and wine selection. Thanks So Much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our neighbor. On our last visit to IOP, we stopped in one night and we loved it. The food was great and so was the service. Our servers were Heidi and Shawna. We went for lunch one day and then dinner the same day and breakfast the next morning. The portions are large so come with an appetite!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words. I am glad you have enjoyed your visits to Acme. I will pass the good word to Heidi and Shawna! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.