We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fried oysters....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acme Lowcountry Kitchen

Acme Lowcountry Kitchen
31 J C Long Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2216
+1 843-886-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great fried oysters....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

i had the eggs Benedict Rockefeller and it was just incredible. Oysters were plump and tender, eggs poached perfectly and the grits were the best i had in Charleston.staff attentive and over all nice "low country" feel. worth the stop

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast! Glad to hear you liked the oysters and grits! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    172
    46
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I tried this restaurant on our last night at Isle of Palms. We were looking for a good fish dinner, and asked our hotel for a recommendation. Our meals were absolutely delicious!!! My husband had the Capers Island which was basically a fish sandwich with bacon. I had the Founder Picatta. This was one of the best fish dinners I have ever had! The prices were reasonable, and the staff was friendly. The service was quick and we never had to ask for anything. If you're looking for a delicious dinner stop here!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
This is the kind of experience I love hearing about. Good seafood, at a reasonable price, with great service. What more do we need in life? Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a very laid back restaurant with an island vibe. I had the crab cake sandwich. It was beautifully presented and the best I have ever had! Go here you will not be disappointed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hey, thanks for the great review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your crab cake sandwich. The crab in there is all fresh and is sourced as close to local as I can get it from North Carolina. Keep it local and keep it good! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Heard so much about Acme and decided to give it a try.WOW! Everyone is very friendly and the service was great. They made me feel like I've been there a hundred times before. The food was excellent. Looking forward to going back and try something else. Loved the fried pickles and jalapeño peppers, and the shrimp and grits where wonderful

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Great food is out exact aim. Glad to hear the front of the house staff made you feel like a regular! Hope to see ya again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“we enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just left from the Cantina. Service was great, very fast and constantly checking on us. I had the Sweet Tea chicken that was quite tasty. Everyone else enjoyed their food with the only mild complaint being the tacos were just a bit too spicy. It was certainly worth the money and I would happily eat there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby S, Owner at Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed everything. Sorry the tacos were too spicy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Lowcountry Kitchen also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Acme Lowcountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acme Lowcountry Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.