We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Puzzled About The Whole Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Island Grill Restaurant

Sea Island Grill Restaurant
5757 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
(843) 886-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Isle of Palms
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining with an emphasis toward sustainability. Featuring local and regional fare creatively prepared by our chefs, our menus change seasonally, allowing us to capture the freshest of ingredients and bring those products impeccably to your table.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really Puzzled About The Whole Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since we checked in at around 5 p.m., We decided for convenience that we should eat dinner at the resort. We approached the restaurant around 6 p.m. and were told that we were lucky to secure the last table right by the entrance. Well, we were rather surprised to get this spot as there was only one other table taken at this time. Nevertheless, we sat down and ordered cocktails to begin the meal. Our server explained that there were several items on the regular menu that were unavailable that night. A special feature she explained was the handmade butter made by a woman in Vermont to accompany our bread basket. Special? I decided to try the seared salmon and my husband wanted to be adventurous and ordered the elk featured that evening. The food served was cooked to perfection and attractively presented. The server was atttentive, but became annoying during our meal asking if we wanted another cocktail, a bottle of wine, a glass of wine with our meal or a dessert wine. What started off on an iffy note due to the seated location became a totally in your face experience. In summary, we would recommend this place if you are staying at the resort and don't want to venture out. There are wonderful seafood restaurants close by to explore outside the resort. Do make reservations ahead of time if you decide on eating here. When we did leave, the restaurant was almost full to capacity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not what it should be at this four Diamond Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room is nice. The service is good, but spotty if you have a large group. The food is best if you stick with the local foods and not get into some of their attempt at pretentious presentation. For instance... Truffle Popcorn Scallops was neither truffle or popcorn. Sure they were scallops, but I really could not figure out what they were trying to do. The sauces are okay, but not well developed.

The staff in the bar seemed a bit overwhelmed at times because there was a large group having a conference and they got slammed several times during the week. I would have thought that they would have staffed up for that, and maybe they did, but it was not noticeable.

Final verdict is that if you are staying there and don't want to leave the property, it will do just fine but there are many other local choices within a few minutes drive for those who seek finer dining.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dinner is served in a nice dining room . You can have dinner in the main dining area or the split bar area. Situated in the Four Diamond Wild Dunes Hotel it is not stuffy. Employees are very nice and informed ,dress is resort casual saw jeans.khakis,sports coat ,tie not needed . Had a ample New York Strip that was cooked perfect. Had the Shrimp and Grits appetizer that was very good and topped it off with a Choclate Cake. My eating partner shared their Black Grouper and it was AMAZING! Although pricey ,you always get what you pay for and the detail ,freshness and flavors really come through. Highly recomend for a special night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits at its finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friend and I grabbed a quick dinner at the bar at Sea Island Grill and it was not your typical bar food! Service was quick and the food was amazing. Last time I was here I had some kind of lamb chop which was terrific, but I didnt find it on the menu this time so opted for the Shrimp and Fried Grit Cake. I was not sure what to thing of the fried grit cake but decided to give it a try. It was nothing short of stellar. It was crispy, fluffy and with the jumbo shrimp was the perfect light meal. We ate at the bar and chatted with the bartender for a while - it was a nice evening!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Expensive Breakfast, But worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'll admit, a bit pricey for breakfast. But it is a resort and we did get what we paid for when breakfast was served. We ordered off of the menu as we are NOT buffet people. The omelets were amazing. You could taste each ingredient. The vegetables were fresh. The service was a bit slow, but, we were on vacation and not in a rush at all!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Island Grill Restaurant also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Island Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Island Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.