We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but not memorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Island Grill Restaurant

Sea Island Grill Restaurant
5757 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
(843) 886-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Isle of Palms
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining with an emphasis toward sustainability. Featuring local and regional fare creatively prepared by our chefs, our menus change seasonally, allowing us to capture the freshest of ingredients and bring those products impeccably to your table.
Dallas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food but not memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Pleasant ambience; good service. Food was quite good and the presentations were very attractive. His filet was very good. My braised short rib tasted wonderful, but as short rib often is, it was fattier than I prefer. Sides were good. So, we enjoyed it but not enough at the price to return. The entire Wild Dunes resort disappointed us with no ocean view from the public rooms.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The popcorn scallops were wonderful but would have liked at least one more. We sat outside and it was so lovely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience we have had in the USa”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Our family of six went for a last dinner of our holiday. From the beginning the service was very poor. The waiter spilled water over one of our children, an accident of course,but it set the standard for the whole experiance.We had to ask for our drinks and even longer to order our food. After thirty minutes no food appeared and we had to chase our waiter to hurry along as we had two young children who were hungry and tired. The starters did arrive but by that time we had given up and lost all interest. We informed the duty manager that we were going and were not paying for the drinks and the starters.

Do not go here,particularly as you will be paying a high price for rotten service. As for the food we saw very little of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Sea Island Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We work hard to provide extraordinary service to all our patrons, and it is evident that your service experience was not up to our standards. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager regarding your comments so that the wait service team and kitchen team know where to improve their standards. I know that it does not help to know that these types of negative experiences are limited, but I do hope that the reparations our team provided gave some amount of satisfaction. We hope to have the opportunity to make amends in service upon your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Frank Fredericks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't get coffee right”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We ordered the breakfast buffet, for the money, eggs and bacon, and grits, REALLY

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Contary opinion”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I waited a week just to make sure I didn't post something I regretted. But a week later this meal remains our worst family food experience in 7 years. Service was horrible. I'm talking 45 minutes for food with only 2 tables being used in the restaurant. No drink service while we waited. Is it that hard to tell us it will be a while and refill water/ice tea glasses? I had to get up 3 times to ask the maitre'd to find our waiter. The manager on duty came out the third time and offerred no apologies. Just help slam the dinner down and left and soon as she could. Food portions were ridicolously small. My shrimp and grits had one (YES, only 1) shrimp on it. By that point I was too tired and frustrated to bring it up with our waiter. My son's salmon was the size of 3 of my fingers. Other son's burger was burnt. Even if I wanted to complain we never saw him again. I had to get the bus boy to bring another tea. We waited 10 mintes after we were done for the check and I finally got up and asked for it. The resort is nice as you will see from my 4 star rating of it. But this restaurant...NEVER, NEVER again. Like I said, worst eating experience in 7 years.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sea Island Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
First and foremost, we do regret that your dining experience with us was not exceptional, as that is the caliber of experience we strive to provide each of our diners. We do sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Throughout all of our resort restaurants, we strive for attentive and friendly service and the best quality of food – ensuring that we are incorporating the best products available with a focus on fresh, local and sustainable ingredients – and presentation of dishes.

As a result of your valuable insights, our Resort Executive Chef, Thomas McKinney-Stehr, shared your review with our Kitchen Management Team, and we have addressed these issues for future diners. We hope you will consider dining with us again in the future with this mind.

Again, thank you for your genuine feedback.

Sincerely,
Frank Fredericks
Managing Director of Wild Dunes Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Island Grill Restaurant also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Island Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Island Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.