We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan Creek Grill

Morgan Creek Grill
80 41st Ave, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
+1 843-886-8980
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morgan Creek Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Isle of Palms Marina
Transit: www.lowcountrylooptrolly.com
Description: Morgan Creek Grill, located in the Isle of Palms Marina, offers an unparalleled panoramic view of the Intracoastal Waterway and surrounding Lowcountry marshes from our waterfront dining rooms and the Upperdeck Bar & Grill. Fresh seafood, choice steaks and creative appetizers are offered with southern hospitality in a casual atmosphere. Live music, complimentary boat dockage, children’s menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner daily.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ate here on our trip to Isle of Palms, loved the marina and walking around the water before we dined. The food was excellent, service perfect, and the sunset all we could have wanted. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    104
    100
    70
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Terrible food, dismissive service and way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Entirely agree with previous recent reviewers. Have been vacationing on the IOP for a few years and have made a few visits to this restaurant. It's the only local place on this side of the island near to wild dunes - and it's this reason, plus the view (which is beautiful) - that the place is still in buisness. Tourist flow is regular and plentiful so they are able to serve bad food at inflated prices with poor and dismissive customer service. It's no wonder the locals stay away. Most recently we got the fish tacos as a take out. Bumped around until finally someone said they would prepare us a takeout (you either do takeouts, or you don't!). The tacos were practically inedible: 2 small pieces of overcooked, unidentifiable rubbery fish (which I suspect had been frozen) inside 2 tacos with absolutely nothing else..no coleslaw/onion/seasonings/lime....nothing! The rest was just bread. Save your $$, jump in the car and avoid this overpriced place. So many other great options a short drive away. Will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca O, Manager at Morgan Creek Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
1pimmsoclock1 – We would like to apologize for the poor service and unacceptable food you received. We are looking into the incident and hope you brought it to the manger on duty’s attention. We would like to talk to you on a more personal level and would appreciate if you called us at (843) 886-8980 and ask for Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Upper Deck at Morgan Creek is a great little treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away at the end of 41st Avenue beside the marina is a great little restaurant. The Morgan Creek restaurant has two levels- the lower level with formal dining and the upper level for casual dining.

I had the flounder po-boy with a side fries. Good casual dining and friendly service from my waitress, Kelly.

The open air restaurant looks down on the marina and a live musician playing at the outside bar.

Two thumbs up for this Charleston secret.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Took the boat over from the marina on a gorgeous fall day and my first trip to MCG was worth the hour ride. Service quick, ambience on the water great and all kinds of activity. Menu full of good choices and the wine and mix your own Bloody Mary a great idea. Had a first class omelette and a Chilean Chardonnay that was wonderful. Great all around place. Busy without being crowded. Highly recommend. Bill for five with two rounds of drinks under $100.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We liked the views but the restaurant inside was rather bland. Three of us liked our food, one of our group did not. It was noisy and we had a drying child at the next table. A restaurant that charges high prices should deal with those things so others do not have to suffer. When we wanted to leave, the valets all had left. We had to find our keys so we could go to the car.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca O, Manager at Morgan Creek Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Cubsfan1945 – We appreciate you letting us know how your experience went. We do hope the one member of your group brought their food concerns to the attention of your server and that something was done for them. We hope you try us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan Creek Grill also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Morgan Creek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan Creek Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.