We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Views Amazing - Condos need TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Port O' Call

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port O' Call
Save
You added Port O' Call to your Saves list
Wild Dunes Resort, 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451   |  
Hotel amenities
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ocean Views Amazing - Condos need TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First impressions of this condominium complex located in the Wild Dunes Resort on the Isle of Palms were not favorable. The buildings are in dire need of some TLC. Peeling paint, filthy elevators, feral cats, smell of hot garbage wafting from the bins beside the elevators, pool in need of cleaning, etc. We had a DELUXE oceanfront condominium - B203. In the Wild Dunes Resort pricing tier, deluxe is reserved for their top of the line accommodations. The unit itself was nice but definitely not in keeping with the deluxe rating. The screens were torn in the screened-in porch with more peeling paint, the kitchen was so ill-equipped that it was ridiculous. One cheap set of pots and pans, cheap set of silverware and cheap set of dishes. Period. Did I say deluxe is their top tier? The window cranks did not work, all the screens were in the closet. This was a shame because you couldn’t open up the unit to the oceanfront and hear the ocean unless you were on the porch. Light bulbs were missing or not working in many of the interior lights. Bubbled and peeling paint in bathroom and ceiling cracks with peeling plaster. No bathtub stopper but the tub was so dirty that you didn’t really want to take a bath in it anyway. It took us three days to get the ice maker/water dispenser to work. Closet doors were hard to open and the doors going out to the screened in porch took two hands and all your weight to open and close. We were told mid-week cleaning would be there on Wednesday, they arrived on Tuesday morning at a very inconvenient time and they just come right in with their keys. I did call and talked with the Manager On Duty who credited our bill a little due to the lack of deluxe status of the unit/building. So, you would think given everything that I have told you that we would never go back. Wrong! Once you get used to these units and the shortcomings, you can begin to see all that is right with them. These are the closest units to the ocean in all of Wild Dunes Resort. The bed was very comfortable. The miles of bike trails were so enjoyable. These condos should be sold as shabby chic beachfront and take the deluxe title off which would lower the expectations. By the end of the week, I was ready to rebook at the reduced rate but the resort claimed that everything would be fixed by next summer so they would not honor a reduced rate. I couldn’t bring myself to pay over $400 a night with all the fees and taxes. So we will keep looking. I have also seen similar complaints on here going back a year or more so I really don’t expect everything to be fixed by next season. Bottom line, all the units are different and we visited one directly next door that was kept in much better condition. So it is hit or miss proposition, the Wild Dunes Resort has "people" that go through the units and assign the rating tier which in turn assigns the pricing. So it is subjective as to which tier a unit is placed in and there are no real guidelines. But the proximity to the oceanfront is always a direct hit and there is a certain charm to the worn around the edges look once you get used to it! I rated average due to the actual buildings/unit but would have rated excellent based on the views and surroundings. We will go back and we might even go back to the shabby chic Port O' Call, only this time we will know what we are getting.

Room Tip: All units are privately owned and each is different. The internet makes them all look great. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Overall, our stay in this moderate accommodation was just that, moderate. The condo was outdated in some aspects, but really nice in others. It was very clean upon our arrival and we loved the ocean front screened in porch. We spent many lazy hours out there enjoying the view. The widows watch upstairs was an amazing place to see the sunrise or watch the moon, just watch out for the no-seeumms. They were everywhere biting the day lights out of us. the bedding was comfortable and we slept well.
The silverware and plates, cups, bowls, etc need to be replaced. There is very little left. Also note this unit has a high efficiency washer and you need special laundry soap for it. We love having a kitchen where we can cook and feel like we have the creature comforts of home. Also the non-slip mat in the bathtub needs to be replaced, it was torn up and gross. One other note we found, if you are having trouble with the sliding glass door, use the bar of wax under the tv. It works wonders. Don't use the irons, they leave residue on your clothes!
We love the closeness of the pool and it was always clean and ready for our use. We also rented bikes and used the bike paths a great bit. it was very relaxing and enjoyable.
Overall, this condo isnt what we have to expect from Wild Dunes, so next year we will go back to our deluxe condo and stay in F201.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

When we arrived - all screens in the screen room were rippped. Sliding screen from living room to screen room was warped and laying on it's side in the screen room.

Screens were repaired by Wednesday - after much complaining. Owner opted not to fix sliding screen door from screen room to living room.

Unit is "tired" feeling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We are staying at Port O'Call E303 (3rd and top floor). It is a wonderful one bedroom condo. It looks professionally decorated. We love the screened in porch and can see the stunning ocean, waves and beach. It is so relaxing on the porch. We can also see the in ground pool and other Port O'Call villas. One nice thing about the porch is that the owner of this villa has bought tall wicker chairs and a high table so you can see the ocean and beach without anything obstructing your view. The beach is nice to walk on and you can walk for miles!! Also, the ocean is fun for jumping the low waves this time of year. Adults and children would love the sandy beach and getting in the ocean. There are many places to visit here such as Charles Towne Landing, the historic district of Charleston (many mansions to tour) and right on the ocean, Fort Sumter, Middleton Place and Magnolia Gardens to name a few. We loved the seafood at Boathouse, only 20 minutes away from Port O'Call. The snapper was delicious and the restaurant has a lot of character.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

From Monday through Friday all day long unless the tide was too high, there were trucks hauling sand from one place to another in a desperate attempt to stem erosion. At first it was interesting to see the trucks. After an hour it was brutal. They are the HUGE yellow dump trucks which are used in quarries and mines. There was not much room to enjoy the sand on the beach area because the trucks were continually back and forth all day. They are loud too. The heck with Port o' Call for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stay here several times per year. They are reasonably priced for what you get. Three story one bedroom one bath condos with a terrific floorplan right on the beach. All have screened porch. Best for a couple or family with a child. First floor units walk right out to the pool or to beach. Because they are as close as you will get to living on the beach they take a real weather beating and exteriors are worn. They seem to be working on improvements (new roof the week before we came, told us elevators are next). Think of it as shabby elegance, as the interiors can be luxorious. Individually owned, units have winners and losers so do some research.

Room Tip: Our favorites are G101, G202, F101, and C101. F and B units are absolutely oceanfront. Certain end u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our family (mom, dad, and 15 month old) stayed in a one bedroom, one bath condo (F303) in late September 2011. Complex is old and run down with peeling paint, rotting windows, missing shingles, front screen doors that barely closed, and a dirty elevator. Our condo appeared to be recently updated with tile floors, new interior paint, and newer appliances. The bathroom, however... the tub/shower had a new tile surround, but the tub itself was gross. The caulk around the tub was molded and the tub in dire need of re-glazing. Perhaps the mold was due to the fact the fan didn't work. The tub was also very small and had shower doors instead of a curtain. Our unit had a screened porch and upper level widow's walk overlooking the beach. Both looked very weathered. The interior carpet leading to the widow's walk was stained and a musty odor from the attic permeated the upper level. The kitchen was cramped but functional, though the cabinets also had quite a musty smell. Bedroom was fine except for only having airy curtains that made it impossible to darken the room. (Not good when traveling with a toddler in need of naps!) Unit was average clean, though we did wake up to a dead cockroach on two occasions.

Wild Dunes is a "gated" community on the north end of Isle of Palms. Beach in Wild Dunes was not crowded. Charleston is a good 30 mins away in traffic. Nothing within walking distance of Port O'Call except the golf course. Chain groceries, drugstores, discount retailers, etc can be found 15 minutes away across the IOP Connector in Mt. Pleasant. Sullivan's Island where you find Fort Moultrie is also a good 20 minutes away.

Places to eat in Charleston and Mount Pleasant are abundant - fast food, sit-down chain, and many independents. There are a few independent restaurants in Sullivan's Island and IOP as well.

We booked through Beachside Vacations. Had no problems with them.

Love the Charleston area and probably will be back. Just not sure we'll stay in Wild Dunes again as it was a bit of a drive to anything. Pretty sure if we do, it won't be at Port O'Call...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port O' Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O' Call

Address: Wild Dunes Resort, 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Palms
Number of rooms: 93
Also Known As:
Port o` Call Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port O' Call, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.