We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - First Class Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Wild Dunes Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off Nightly Rates!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Very Nice - First Class Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We joined some friends here for the weekend. It was a bit hard to find in the dark and rain but once we got there, it was well worth the effort. The suites were well furnished and very tasteful. The views of the area were very nice. Service was great. You can walk to the ocean. The adjacent hotel had a great restaurant where we had breakfast - expensive but very nice. Really a lovely getaway. Everything about it was great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Susie C,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at Wild Dunes Resort. Our team takes pride in the appearance of the Resort and works hard to make sure that both the resort and natural beauty of Isle of Palms are maintained. We enjoy the walk to the ocean and the views as much as you do! Our team is currently working on increased signage and entrance lighting to help with visibility in the evenings and in rainy conditions. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and reviews. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Frank Fredericks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    323
    129
    104
    58
See reviews for
581
426
16
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken SC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent two nights at Wild Dunes resort with friends flying into Charleston from Denver. The place was immaculate, the two bedroom was extremely spacious. The included breakfast was well worth the extra $15 pp. The Boardwalk area is quite beautiful. would not hesitate to go back,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Check in, valet, maid service were all exceptional. The beauty and cleanliness of the resort is magnificent. Only concern we had with our stay was the under staffing at the lobby bar. We went twice to get drinks and both time we were waiting for 20 minutes. The bartender was struggling to handle a group of conventioners. When I asked for a Michelob, I was given a Michelob Ultra. I wanted something that I could taste, not some thinned out, tasteless beer. He only had the Ultra. Come on! At least stock your bar! Have 2 bartender when you have evening convention events. Just because there are 2 bars on grounds doesn't mean that I have to go to the other to get my order. I didn't want to go into a night club for drinks, just a nice quiet bar, that is stocked, with two bartenders when business dictates.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! We go several times a year and are never disapointed. You never have to leave the resort if you don't want to. It is great for married couples and families. You can't go wrong, no matter where you stay here. The Villages are our favorite..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceredo, wv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

we vacation here often and have for over 15 years. we love going in october since the weather is still nice and the crowds are gone. my kids have the beaches to themselves, and there is usually another family around for them to plat with. everything you need is in the resort. the bike station is awesome and very helpful. nice new playgrounds were added last time we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I always love coming to Charleston and Wild Dunes. This was my third visit. I enjoyed a great meal at the Sea Island Grill. The servers and bartenders were very polite and efficient. The drive into downtown Charleston was easy for dinner. The front desk and valet attendants were helpful with directions and recommendation. I'm very much looking forward to my next say at Wild Dunes Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear CravetheCoast,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Wild Dunes Resort! As much as our team here loves welcoming new guests to the resort, it is always such a pleasure to welcome back returning loyal guests. Thank you for your compliments to the front desk and valet staff- I will be sure to share your kind words with them. I know they take pride in their knowledge of Charleston and always strive to give each guest all of the information they need make the most out of their stay and to experience all that Charleston has to offer. One behalf of the Wild Dunes team, thank you taking the time to share your review and thoughts. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Frank Fredericks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent our anniversary week-end at Wild Dunes Resort , actually at the Boardwalk Inn. It was a spectacular time from beginning to end. The accomaodations were excellent and the staff just outstanding. They took care of our every need. We could have not been more pleased.

Room Tip: I really thin all the rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.