We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Dunes Resort is Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Save Saved
You added Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sale into Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wild Dunes Resort is Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed during Thanksgiving weekend and had a wonderful time! From the annual golf cart parade to a late dinner at the Sea Island Grill, every experience was fantastic. The resort has everything a family could want during their vacation. (tennis, golfing, biking, etc.) And the staff was professional, pleasant and ready to serve at a moment's notice. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    763
    307
    122
    94
    55
See reviews for
546
395
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having a tennis statewide event there for the last 6 years has been a pleasure. The staff is professional, friendly, accommodating to all our needs making all participants feel at home. The lodging has always been excellent with friendly and professional staff assisting with any needs. I have also attended 2 business meetings and have found them to meet and excede all expectations. A great place for meetings, events or just a vacation. Highly recommend Wild Dunes.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the Boardwalk, in the surrounding areas of the tennis courts, in the hotel, and sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Thanksgiving this year. The weather was perfect and the stay was all we could wish for. We have been going to Wild Dunes for about 24 years. Had a little trouble with the lodging last year but Wild Dunes got on it and everything was perfect this year.

I would recommend this vacation place because the staff took time to resolve the issues and that does not happen very much these days.

The lodging was clean and maintained and everyone at the resort that we came into contact with was helpful. No issue went unsolved to the point that I had a call from the resort waiting for me when I arrived home.

The beach is clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What I love most about the Wild Dunes aside from the great customer service is the location. It's located away from the city, yet so close to everything. The nearby town Mt.Pleasent right over the bridge has everything you need shops, dining, etc. It's only a short drive into Charleston as well. The only thing I would say is a slight hassle could be the parking. Not much of it. We were there for a week during the first part and it was effortless to find a place to park. Yet because I felt like royalty that week I still insisted to valet, ignoring my wife’s suggestion to simply park in one of the open spaces ;). However during the weekend more guests arrived and valet seemed to be a necessity. Great Place overall and we will be back and will also consider ownership someday!!

Room Tip: The best rooms in the Village are on the 3rd floor the have the biggest balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I chose Wild Dunes to experience our 10th Anniversary because of the relaxed and genuine TLC given at Wild Dunes. The ambiance is rich and tranquil while the staff is at your call. the rooms are "roomy", very clean, looks like remodeled, bath and shower are 5 star: mattress is king sign and plush (exactly what a traveler requires for a good nights restful sleep) and the view from the 4th and 5 th floor over the pool (you must request) are spectacular! The food on the property is outstanding. Staff "knows" you at check. Nice

Room Tip: ask for 4th or 5th floor over the pool with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband, son and I along with some friends visited this resort on a warm weekend in December. Wild Dunes resort is a beautiful and well kept resort. We rented a two bedroom condo with an ocean view. The condo was well kept, clean, and had great amenities.
My only complaint was that upon check out, we were told we could not use one of the resort's trolleys to carry our luggage down; despite the fact that we had an infant and a lot of luggage. It ended up taking us over 30 minutes to load our car with all of the trips up and down the elevator with an infant and without a luggage trolley. When we complained at check out, the staff seemed indifferent.

Despite the minor trolley issue, we were extremely happy with our stay and we plan on coming back in the spring or summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed during an unseasonably warm couple of days in December. It was warm enough to swim but the place was completely deserted, so it was a great situation for us! Between us, we have over 7 years experience working in 3 different departments in a sister property to the Boardwalk Inn, so we know the service standards well because we have to do them.

Cedric brought us room service each morning and is a model employee. He was flawlessly professional and friendly, he saw us in the lobby and spoke to us, truly a great asset to your staff! The young guy working front desk the nights of 12/2 and 12/3 was also great. Really polite and friendly--he made us feel very welcome. All members of staff we encountered spoke to us. We missed service one morning because we had a privacy sign and then called down for service...this was done almost immediately.

The only thing not good about our stay was with the tennis center. We brought our rackets excited to be able to play at the resort, and we went to the courts around 11 AM. We walked in and very few courts were occupied, so we easily found an empty court and hit around for just a few minutes before a woman came to tell us we had to register, which is fine, but they wanted to charge us $15/hour to play before noon, or we could wait until 12 when we could get a complimentary hour...how inconvenient? We just left and went to the beach, but had planned our day around playing a little tennis. This was embarrassing and disappointing--it felt like we were getting nickeled and dimed, especially when already paying a small, albeit annoying, resort fee. The staff should use discretion to make small exceptions of an hour when the courts are nearly empty on a Monday morning in December. Reading other reviews, it seems like similar experiences are common, and that did not leave a good impression.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.