We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay at the village during our honeymoon. It was an awesome experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Wild Dunes Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekday Getaway Savings!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“We stay at the village during our honeymoon. It was an awesome experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What I love most about the Wild Dunes aside from the great customer service is the location. It's located away from the city, yet so close to everything. The nearby town Mt.Pleasent right over the bridge has everything you need shops, dining, etc. It's only a short drive into Charleston as well. The only thing I would say is a slight hassle could be the parking. Not much of it. We were there for a week during the first part and it was effortless to find a place to park. Yet because I felt like royalty that week I still insisted to valet, ignoring my wife’s suggestion to simply park in one of the open spaces ;). However during the weekend more guests arrived and valet seemed to be a necessity. Great Place overall and we will be back and will also consider ownership someday!!

Room Tip: The best rooms in the Village are on the 3rd floor the have the biggest balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    375
    145
    114
    63
See reviews for
650
468
18
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I chose Wild Dunes to experience our 10th Anniversary because of the relaxed and genuine TLC given at Wild Dunes. The ambiance is rich and tranquil while the staff is at your call. the rooms are "roomy", very clean, looks like remodeled, bath and shower are 5 star: mattress is king sign and plush (exactly what a traveler requires for a good nights restful sleep) and the view from the 4th and 5 th floor over the pool (you must request) are spectacular! The food on the property is outstanding. Staff "knows" you at check. Nice

Room Tip: ask for 4th or 5th floor over the pool with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband, son and I along with some friends visited this resort on a warm weekend in December. Wild Dunes resort is a beautiful and well kept resort. We rented a two bedroom condo with an ocean view. The condo was well kept, clean, and had great amenities.
My only complaint was that upon check out, we were told we could not use one of the resort's trolleys to carry our luggage down; despite the fact that we had an infant and a lot of luggage. It ended up taking us over 30 minutes to load our car with all of the trips up and down the elevator with an infant and without a luggage trolley. When we complained at check out, the staff seemed indifferent.

Despite the minor trolley issue, we were extremely happy with our stay and we plan on coming back in the spring or summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed during an unseasonably warm couple of days in December. It was warm enough to swim but the place was completely deserted, so it was a great situation for us! Between us, we have over 7 years experience working in 3 different departments in a sister property to the Boardwalk Inn, so we know the service standards well because we have to do them.

Cedric brought us room service each morning and is a model employee. He was flawlessly professional and friendly, he saw us in the lobby and spoke to us, truly a great asset to your staff! The young guy working front desk the nights of 12/2 and 12/3 was also great. Really polite and friendly--he made us feel very welcome. All members of staff we encountered spoke to us. We missed service one morning because we had a privacy sign and then called down for service...this was done almost immediately.

The only thing not good about our stay was with the tennis center. We brought our rackets excited to be able to play at the resort, and we went to the courts around 11 AM. We walked in and very few courts were occupied, so we easily found an empty court and hit around for just a few minutes before a woman came to tell us we had to register, which is fine, but they wanted to charge us $15/hour to play before noon, or we could wait until 12 when we could get a complimentary hour...how inconvenient? We just left and went to the beach, but had planned our day around playing a little tennis. This was embarrassing and disappointing--it felt like we were getting nickeled and dimed, especially when already paying a small, albeit annoying, resort fee. The staff should use discretion to make small exceptions of an hour when the courts are nearly empty on a Monday morning in December. Reading other reviews, it seems like similar experiences are common, and that did not leave a good impression.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was browsing around the site, Groupon and purchased a two night stay at Boardwalk Inn. My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway. We loved the hotel and the "Boardwalk". We went in March and the weather couldn't have been any better for that particular time of year. We loved our amenities and the staff was always very friendly! We can't wait to go back this spring!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wild Dunes on the Isle of Palms SC is a wonderful resort with lots of amenities. We went for a short getaway the first part of November and took our bicycles. They also have golf and tennis facilities that are excellent. There's only five miles of biking trails on the resort but there is easy biking on the rest of the island and across the waterway. Doesn't rate with the bike trails at Hilton Head but the island is not near as big. The staff was the best. Aiming to please was their mission and they accomplished it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed over Thanksgiving for several days with my sister, neice and nephew. We wanted to get away and do something completely different for Thanksgiving as our dad had just passed away....we needed to just get away. It was wonderful! So peaceful and quiet. Beautiful condo, right on the ocean. And having Hudson's grocery store there right on the property, OPEN on Thanksgiving was a blessing....we forgot so many things like salt, butter, etc. I would love to come back again and am sure I will.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#2 of 6 in Isle of Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
11.2 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.