We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boardwalk Inn Location-Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Wild Dunes Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Nightly Rates!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Boardwalk Inn Location-Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My Son and I Flew down from New York and stayed at the Boardwalk Inn and we had a Great Time.
Its a 30min trip from the Airport.
The Fall is a Special Time to be at the Beach in SC.
We asked for an Ocean View so we were on the 5th floor overlooking
the tops of the houses between us and the Ocean. We also had a suite
so we had a sitting room where my son who was on break from college
could spread out and get some work done. We also had a Balcony that spanned
the length of the two rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful and
although we only stayed there 2 and a half days we found the food (Breakfast & Lunch) that
we had on the property to be very good. For Dinner we went outside the property.
We also rented bikes and rode along the streets and then we went out onto the beach
which is something we really enjoy doing. There were beach chairs for rent and
a heated swimming pool for folks staying at the Boardwalk Inn.
If Schedules workout we will definitely be back next Fall..
Plus we'll bring our Tennis Rackets the Courts were empty and they looked to be in Great Shape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    323
    130
    104
    58
See reviews for
582
427
16
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Throop, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For my 60th birthday in October, we did a tour of the south spending a few days in Raleigh, NC visiting family, 3 days in Savannah, GA, 3 days at Wild Dunes Resort at Isle of Palms, and 3 days at Myrtle Beach. We felt the resort was very overpriced for the type of accommodations we had. We booked a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo with an "oceanfront" view. The room was on the first floor of the condo and the entire view was obstructed by huge trees. The room was also so far back from the ocean that you could hardly even hear the waves. The condo also had an unpleasant odor, like someone smoked in there previously and it was sprayed to mask the smell (not sure if that is the case, but that is what it reminded us of). We also saw a number of "waterbugs" aka roaches outside our room. The only reason I didn't complain is because we never saw any in the room - thankfully.

We booked this resort because of it's close proximity to historic Charleston as well as the "many" amentities. Had I known that the swim complex, exercise facilities, etc. were so spread out, I would have never booked this resort. I would never pay so much money to stay at a resort and then have to drive to a swim complex and drive back in a wet bathing suit. We never even used any of the facilities because of this.

On a positive note, in Myrtle Beach we stayed at North Beach Plantation for 1/2 the price of the room we had at Wild Dunes Resort. They surprised us with an upgrade to a 2 bed 2 bath suit on the 18th floor at no extra charge. It was absolutely amazing and I thought I was living lifestyles of the rich and famous and we were treated like royalty. Wild Dunes could take some lessons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A great vacation spot to get away from the real world! Wild Dunes has it all; golf, tennis, sunbathing, and beachcombing. Its closeness to Charleston is an absolute plus. One can travel from Wild Dunes on Palm Drive to the neatest places without struggling with traffic. You cab enjoy Mount Pleasant, Sullivan's Island, and other beach communities in the most relaxing way. Our trip was just outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I can't say enough about the Village at Wild Dunes. It is beautifully maintained and the two bedroom/2 bath condo we had was fantastic. It was decorated perfectly and the rooms are large. There was a nicely stocked kitchen and the wrap-around balcony was heavenly. We met another couple here for a visit and had a blast. Each bedroom is private and has an attached bathroom. We spent time late at night around the dining room table catching up and visiting with our friends. Isle of Palms is such a beautiful place. It is laid back but sort of "happening" and not that far from Charleston. We did tours of Charleston, had seafood in old Charleston and even visited Ft. Sumter. I would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Though I had never stayed here before I was familiar with Wild Dunes Broadwalk Inn so I had high expectations when booking the reservations. Those expectations were exceeded. Nice job Wild Dunes. Great staff, especially the valet staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 312, 412 or 512 look over the pool and right down the boardwalk and a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fantastic, and yes, it actually IS kid-friendly. We have a 2.5 year old, who lovingly romped all over the place. Beach, pool, etc. All were great, clean, well maintained. Great setting, COULD NOT recommend it enough. Try the pork tamale at Sea Island.... Mmmmm...

No really, these guys really take care of you!

Room Tip: For a family, do yourself a favor and stay at the Village- bigger rooms, and the suite is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spend 5 days here with my family. We really loved everything about this resort... the casual and formal food, the accommodations, the service, the location, etc. and best of all my kids loved it which is something we always care about. We will definitely go back next time we're in the States. Thanks for the great vacations!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.