We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Dunes Resort

Save Saved
You added Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Dunes Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sale into Summer Special
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Isle of Palms
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My son and I when to Wild Dunes to stay and attend the PGA on Kiawha in August. The resort is 5 star. The rooms are well lit, beds are super comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious, spotless, show with strong pressure. Looks like a recent remodel? My son was super impressed and we got a great nights sleep. All kinds of amenities around the resort including a very large pool and shopping and the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for the forth floor over the pool which puts you facing the ocean. ask for a room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    763
    307
    122
    94
    55
See reviews for
546
395
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything about this property was wonderful, from our room at The Boardwalk Inn to the restaurants, beach area, pools, fitness centers and golf courses. The staff was outstanding any request was responded to swiftly and with a smile. This was our first time staying at Wild Dunes and we will definitely return. This 4 Diamond resort exceeded our expectations in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

2 adults and 2 kids just returned from a few days at the resort after visiting Charleston. We stayed at the Villages A..a 2 Bdrm The accommodations were spacious and very nice. The beach was awesome. We ate at the Sea Island Grill, food was good. Kids liked the clown on Friday night and the outside movies. Overall a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went there w/ few long-time college friends for a mini reunion, and really enjoyed our stay at Wild Dunes. Although we didn't have any kids with us and this place was full of families w/ kids, the resort is so large that it didn't bother us.
PROS: Beautiful and long sandy beach for jogging or biking, nice grounds for walking and biking, plenty of tennis courts which are nicely maintained, nice pool for early morning laps, bike rental, and nice service.
CONS: None really, except we had few minor problems with the condo we stayed at but were quickly fixed! Aldo, the condo's furniture was getting worn out but clean and comfortable.
Charleston is within 20 minutes driving distance which is beautiful and has great restaurants. Also other nice restaurants and shops/stores are within 5-10 minutes driving distance. BTW, when they say rooms won't be ready until after 4pm, they REALLY mean it! So plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Our condo on Racquetclub drive which was right across tennis courts and next to the pool! So, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Visited in April 2012 with my husband & 3 kids, age 5, 8 & 10. Rented a condo from the website, thought it would be fairly central, although locations were not clear on the website. Got there and had a beat-up, 80's style condo that was a good 15 minute walk from the main complex and the beach (several rows back from beachfront), across fairly busy roads. I was NOT happy, since making this walk with my kids was not easy. Keeping an eye on traffic, listening to tired, hungry kids complain, and carrying a bag full of towels, sunscreen, and water for the day was NOT my idea of vacation. The beach and pool areas were nice, but nothing that special. I expressed my disappointment on several occasions to the management, and the only response I ever got from the management was "we will pass that on at our next manager's meeting". Filled out an email evaluation after we got home, but never got any response. That's ridiculous at any resort, but especially when you are spending that kind of money. I can't believe they are not more concerned with the happiness of their customers. Really disappointed since I grew up spending my summers in South Carolina and had always heard good things about Wild Dunes, how nice it was, but clearly, it is now WAY overrated. Will never waste my money here again. Enjoyed Kiawah for the first half of our trip MUCH more. If I want to be closer to Charleston, next time I will either stay in one of the hotels in downtown or Mount Pleasant/Sullivan's Island. Wild Dunes is about 20-30 minutes from downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank F, General Manager at Wild Dunes Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. From your words above, it sounds as though we had several opportunities to not only set the right expectation for your vacation experience before arrival, but to make it up to you when those expectations fell short upon check in and even after departure. Please accept my sincere apologies for the failure on our end. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Wild Dunes to experience the kind of vacation that you expected and deserved at the outset. Please contact me at ffredericks@wilddunes.com.

Frank Fredericks
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a classy place. Within a gated community, Wild Dunes is a great getaway on the ocean. Great amenities - this is a 4 Diamond resort! We really enjoy the beach there at low tide which is very wide. It's a treat to be able to dine and swim at the beach while living in comfort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wild Dunes is a wonderful resort for a family vacation. Lots of kid and adult friendly activities. The facilities are well maintained, the beach is clean, the waves are great, and the staff is very gracious. I will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Dunes Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Dunes Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.