We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maids Steal from you @ The Palms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palms Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1126 Ocean Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly and Save
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Raleigh, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Maids Steal from you @ The Palms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed there over Memorial day weekend and am just now getting around to writing the review. It was horrible. Our rooms were dirty, the maids stole money out of our room, from multiple people, and the lights in the bathroom had a very dangerous electrical short. Overall it was horrible and the people that ran the place did nothing to make the situation any better. For the price I was not expecting a five star hotel, but it was probably the worst accomodations that I have ever had to stay in. Also, the parking sucks.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — The dirt.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPHM, Management at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2007
At The Palms Hotel, the safety and security of our guests is paramount. Providing excellent accommodations and guest service is our priority. In this case, the guests were here for a “bachelorette/wedding party weekend” and had several people in their 2 adjoining rooms. We were advised by the guest that she did not personally know everyone that was attending the weekend get together and sharing their rooms. This incident was reported to the staff at the front desk and an incident report was filled out, in which the guest stated that if we would give them a late check out, that all would be ok. This request was granted. The majority of the staff are long term employees and take great pride in their work and their hotel. It was such a surprise to have this type of incident reported, as it is the first of its nature.
Our hotel, as most hotels, offer safety deposit boxes for guests use, free of charge. I would certainly recommend this option to those guests who would be sharing a room with people they don’t necessarily know too well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    149
    96
    84
    82
See reviews for
168
218
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

I can across the Palms Hotel on my way traveling to Virginia. This hotel is situated right on the beach! I originally was going to stay at the Seaside Inn which was a few doors down from the Palms but decided to see what prices the Palms had to offer. I am so glad I did. The Palms had bigger room, a decent sized pool, and better prices. I stayed in an oceanfront room that had a private balcony which I appreciated since I travel a lot by myself. The room were very clean. The staff was very nice and helpful especially the desk clerk Lisa. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — wireless internet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed three nights, 20 minutes from downtown Charleston. End of season so very quiet. Staff very friendly. Twin bedded room clean and comfortable but generally looking a little tired. (Full beach view probably favourite to partial sea view - ours overlooked nextdoor restaurant so could have been noisey in high season). Breakfast area was pleasant and usual continental breakfast. Just across boardwalk to beach, nice for walking, restaurants both sides, with music some nights, very casual and relaxing.

  • Liked — Casual and comfortable
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

This hotel was a dissapointment in an otherwise beautiful location. The beach was wonderful and since there are very few hotels actually on the beach we didn't have much choice on where to stay.
The property was not kept up very well. The room was clean and large but with very plain furnishings. There was no closet in which to hang our clothes, just a clothing rack ( I thougth that went out with cheap hotels in the '60s). The microwave was just sitting on top of a mini refrigerator against the wall next to the clothing rack.
The climate in the room was not very comfortable. It was hot outside so we needed the air conditioning on, but when it was on the room felt very clammy and uncomfortable.
Since we were on the second floor we were able to use the stairs instead of the infamous rickety elevators.
Parking was not convenient and we wondered if it was safe since there was no security for the gravel lot across the street.
I don't think we will be staying here again,which is a shame since we really liked the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not up to par
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMB,SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I stay at The Palms Hotel on Isle Of Palms quite often for business and pleasure. The staff is very courteous and friendly. They are knowledgeable of the surrounding area and of the activities there. The manager is as friendly as she can be.

The location is excellent since it's close to Charleston and it is ocean front. The views are wonderfull and the rooms are spacious and spotless. It is the cleanest hotel that I have stayed in.

The continental breakfast rivals any other hotels offering the same.

I will stay there time and time again. It's wonderful!!

  • Liked — Everything was at hand.
  • Disliked — Parking. Not a big problem
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Hotel is in a great location, right on the beach. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area making some GREAT suggestions about things to see and places to eat. Plenty of things for the kids to do, too. Rooms were great. Everything was in order and as it should be. Prices were competitive to the area. The grounds
were in great shape as well. Very well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I have stayed now twice at the Palms and am booking #3. Our son is at the Citadel and getting to relax at the beach is a real plus for him. The beach is beautiful and with music on either side at night there is free entertainment. yes....the room could be cleaner. but the room is nice and the view is spectacular. plus with the fridg and micro in the room we don't have to go out all the time. breakfast is good. but the beach is ...... ahhh!

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — the carpet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**ATTENTION**: This winter The Palms Oceanfront Hotel will be experiencing major construction to enhance the property. The construction will start in the Fall and last through the end of the Winter. For long periods of time, the construction will make the loading and unloading area beneath the hotel inaccessible. As always, there will be loading areas across the street that will be marked off with yellow lines and a sign that reads "The Palms Oceanfront Hotel Loading Zone". We know this may be an inconvenience for some our guest. It is our goal to continue the enhancement of our entrance that started earlier this year with paving the drive under the hotel. We are always working hard to make The Palms better and better. This project, along with a few others that will be done this Winter, are a part of our constant efforts to make The Palms Hotel the premier hotel on the Isle of Palms. We will refresh this space with the exact dates of construction and any additional closures that may occur. If you have any questions about how the construction may impact your stay, feel free call us and speak to any of our associates! Located on the beach in beautiful Isle of Palms, South Carolina. Serving as your oceanfront gateway to miles of pristine white sandy beaches and sun shadowed blue waters, the Palms Oceanfront Hotel consistently ranks as one of the best Isle of Palms hotels. Choosing the Palms Oceanfront Hotels will place you minutes away from Wild Dunes Resort, Historic Charleston, Mount Pleasant, southern Plantations, Fort Moultrie, and Sullivan's Island. Our accommodations aren't the only thing that makes us one of the most popular Isle of Palms hotels-our knowledgeable staff can help you plan a Charleston trip that you will remember forever. The 2009 Readers' Choice Awards from Southern Living named the Isle of Palms one of the Top 10 Best Beaches in the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.