We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flea infested, not clean, run-down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas
Save
You added Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas to your Saves list
P.O. Box 157 - 1304 Palm Blvd., Isle of Palms, SC 29451   |  
Hotel amenities
Fishkill, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“flea infested, not clean, run-down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent most of our time with family in another, very pleasant unit. Ours, 102A, was flea infested, bites all over our legs. Under the burners on the stove, filthy. Dishwasher on its last legs. Dead bugs in the cabinets, on windowsills, and under furniture (where it was never cleaned). Bath fixtures in very bad shape, needs replacing. Carpets are obviously never cleaned. When stripping beds, mattress pads stained and crawling with, yes, fleas! Sofas are smelly and stained. Deck carpet disgusting - just not the same experience we've had in the past! TV's have 3-4 remotes, and one needed batteries. Management attitude lackluster when we complained. My advice to owner: Clean it, I mean, really CLEAN it, with a real vacuum cleaner, fantastic with bleach, etc, do not use fabric covered furniture or carpeting because it's hard to keep clean with so many visitors staying there. Repaint, and replace shabby furnishings and appliances. Not worth one cent to stay there.

Room Tip: Look up reviews on the units you are assigned. Upon arrival, check everything out, strip the beds, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
19
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

These are all privately owned, so I can only speak for this one. We had a 3rd floor room with a great view. This resort had the only pier in the area that I could find, and that influenced my decision to rent. The room had some age, but was reasonably comfortable. Deck chairs had some cracks and screen would not stay in the track and these were reported.Bring bathsoap and coffee filters. Grounds were very well maintained, and security was present. Groceries, liquor, ice cream, pizza, restaurants, all within walking distance. Anything else is available with a short drive. Historic Charleston is just 20-30 minutes away. All in all, it was a great stay unless you are looking for luxury.

Room Tip: 330 and 347 may have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Sea Cabins are very convenient to the beach, has a nice pool, and a fishing pier. These are all very nice qualities about this place.

Unfortunately, when arrived at Sea Cabin 331 our sheets were dirty. This was quickly corected.

Also, the sliding door to the porch was very difficult to open and close. In fact, you could not open it from the outside and could easily get locked out of your room. This was called in to maintenance and there was no response. A second call also resulted in no response. This is not what I would call excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Each condo is individually owned, so we wanted to do our homework. We found that unit 345 had great reviews and was cleaned by the owners themselves.
We loved the place and the location and views were outstanding. Thanks again to the owners!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

growing up, my aunt owned a condo here at the sea cabins. we hadn't been there in 15 years and decided to go back. we got two rooms 124 and 125. room 124 was maintained and cleaned by the owners = she was wonderful and the room was nice and clean = worth the money. room 125 ---- cleaned and ran by island realty = dirty and moldy = NOT worth the money and potentially dangerous. will post pictures. be careful which room you choose!!!! the management pretended to help....they claimed to have cleaned the room, it took 3 calls to get a mop, they offered another place (2 blocks away from ocean and no pool = not what we paid for). bad experience overall. even if the room was great (which 124 was) it was REALLY loud outside your bedroom and sound from other rooms all the time and all night. it is really close to the beach and the pool is awesome. from speaking to 3 owners - they HATE island realty and wish someone else would take over the management and are thinking of selling their property.

Room Tip: get rooms cleaned and ran by owners that live near by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Cabins 3rd week of May. It was obvious to us that the present owners are doing updates. The stairs had all been replaced recently, and the entire place had been painted. The room, while horribly outdated, was at least clean and the towels were A-rated. The bedspread/pillows were worn out though and should be replaced. The stove was awful and the toaster was so old/rusted, the button would barely push down. The carpeting was old and the furniture questionable. However, it was a perfect location for ocean view, proximity to beach and the few restaurants within walking distance. We had free parking. We had no problem with noise until the last night (a Saturday). It's also just a short drive to a very nice grocery and Target. All of this being said, I credit the cleaning staff for doing their utmost to have the room presentable. We did see in a few rooms that have received upgrades. I suspect they are doing them a little at a time. We normally would stay at a slightly better place, but money was tight so this turned out as well as we could have hoped.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Really dissatisfied during our recent stay at Sea Cabins #301. Upon arrival the unit was infested with fleas. We made several calls and did not hear back from anyone. Maintenance showed up a day later and sprayed. The fleas returned immediately. The refrigerator was old, dirty and made significant noise. It did not make a tight seal and condensation formed horribly and much food had to be discarded at first as it was soaked. We finally learned that only the top shelf could be used.

The rug was filthy and flea infested as well as the couch. This left the family nowhere to sit. As the children were afraid of all the insects and bug bites they incurred in the room; they could not wait to leave and go home. THIS WAS A FIRST!

I find it interesting that you can be charged $25 for failing to bring out the garbage, strip the beds and start a dishwasher; yet we had to pay a significant amount to stay in a bug infested unit and no recourse. The unit put a damper on our stay in Isle of Palms and I would not recommend Sea Cabins.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas

Address: P.O. Box 157 - 1304 Palm Blvd., Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Palms
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas Hotel Isle Of Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cabins Oceanside Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.