We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf Traveling Experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Palm Blvd. Ste. N, Isle of Palms, SC 29451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Traveling Experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Entrance is elegant like you expect when you enter a 5 star resort. Very peaceful drive to the Boardwalk. Called by name by the valet, by the property staff and helped to my room. On property restaurant is comfortable and delirious. Staff is excellent. Ask for foam pillows and the mattresses are great for a great night sleep! You cannot beat it. Bathroom is roomy and very clean and well lite.

Room Tip: as for the 5 floor and a view down the board walk. you cannot beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

THe staff at the Boardwalk Inn at Wild Dunes is friendly, courteous, accommodating and aims to please - they are very well trained in customer service. Cudos to The Wild Dunes managment who obviously realize that customer relations should be valued and is a huge part of the overall expericnce while staying at any hotel or resort.

Room Tip: You can request an ocean facing room but they will not guarantee.... I've asked for 3 years runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Village at Wild Dunes for a couple days after a week in a Wild Dunes condo with extended family. Greatly impressed by the room. Spacious. Full refrigerator. Microwave. Stove. Washer-drier. About two block walk to the ocean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A little trouble getting the room as promised even though the hotel wasn't very busy. They made up for it with a few drinks and an appetizer, but had I not been firm, they would have put us in a room facing the resort rather than the ocean. Bar was nice and appetizer (their take on shrimp and grits) absolutely outstanding. To get to the beach from the hotel, you have to walk about a block on the boardwalk, past all sorts of housing units. I would have preferred a place closer to the beach. The beach is beautiful. The tennis complex wonderful. The biggest problem was the "love-bugs." September is mating season and they were everywhere. Other than that (and the check-in), wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family rented a villa at Seascape. The beach view is fantastic with only a short walk to reach the beach. The villa is well-decorated and very comfortable. Pool is small but nice. Makes for a great vacation.

Room Tip: What ever villa you choose, select on on a higher floor is you want a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our family vacation was saved by our travel agent, Souma, from ResortQuest Rentals. We were renting a house on the other part of the island from an individual. Within a couple days the livings arrangements got so bad, we had to move. We scrambled on the internet and were fortunate to come in contact with Souma. She made arrangements for us, in what seemed like, a brand new four bedroom house on Grand Pavilion, located on Wild Dunes Resort. She saved our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We rented a home on Isle of Palm in 2009 and found the home to be outstanding and had a wonderful vacation. However when we returned in 2012 and rented the same home that we rented in 2009 we found the house to be very dirty with clumps of hair and dirt behind almost every door in the home. The furniture was found to be old and very worn. We also found the bedspreads/comforters to be old, faded and in some cases ripped and torn. The shower floor in the master bath was slimy and the toilet area in the master bathroom was smelly. The DVD players in the main family room did not work and there was bug excrement throughout the kitchen cabinets. We also had a roach problem outside around the swimming pool deck especially in the early evening. I reported a number of these problems the day after we checked in at the Resort Quest office on the Isle of Palms in which the greeter was very apologetic and stated that the property manager would be informed however, I was never contacted nor did anyone show up at the house that we rented to confirm nor rectify the issues we had. My family and I will not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort

Address: 1400 Palm Blvd. Ste. N, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.