We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMHO, Seaside Inn is more like a Travelodge on the sea” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn

Save Saved
You added Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Seaside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Ocean Blvd., Isle of Palms, SC 29451   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“IMHO, Seaside Inn is more like a Travelodge on the sea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The pictures and descriptions are deceiving. Sure, it's a beachfront hotel and the view is amazing. The town itself is crowded, although everyone is friendly. The "rooftop" pool is located in the small building above the office. It is 3.5' deep and measures probably 10 x 10. Four kids under 10 were in it and that left no room for others. Didn't look refreshing either.

The rooms are small. Ours was a 2 queen room. One bed is placed upside the wall, literally. The color cable tv is an 18" tv. My biggest complaint was the smell, filthy floors and the bathroom. It reeked of smoke and mold. The bathroom has floor tile in the shower - not good for a no-slip area. There is mold and rust all over the surfaces due to high moisture and an improperly working fan. Our feet are black from the carpeted area. The blinds are not big enough for the window, allowing light to penetrate. The "shared balcony" is a nice way of saying the long hallway with an open side. Oh, and that's were everyone congregates until all hours of the night with every word and cackle penetrating our room!!

It took 3 trips to the office to get towels today. The continental breakfast is truly that. Don't expect waffles, eggs, or anything else.

To me, you'd be better off staying at a reliable chain hotel and drive to the beach. This wasn't worth the $300+ per night rate we were given. I can't recommend it unless you're coming for the beach and don't plan on showering or sleeping in the room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Most guests find our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and our staff works very hard to keep it so. Combating the constant moisture in the air can be a challenge, but we do routine maintenance on each room, which includes regular carpet cleanings. Customer service is our top priority and we certainly would've done anything necessary to make your stay more comfortable had you approached the desk with your concerns. As one of only 3 oceanfront hotels in the Charleston area, we are the most affordable and do not require a minimum stay. We are a good option for families on a budget who just want to get away for a day or two. We will keep your review in mind as we constantly strive to improve our hotel for the benefit of our future guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    51
    46
    47
See reviews for
84
124
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited 6/17-6/22, 2013. I booked the hotel through Expedia and got a good deal with a rental car. When I booked the hotel (through Expedia) there were no oceanfront rooms available. I later called them directly, and Tanya on the desk told me that to get oceanfront rooms, you have to book with them directly. If you can afford it, do it!! We ended up with an oceanfront room (king bed) for 2 nights, and a regular room (2 queens) for 3 nights. The rooms are on the small side, but this is a beachfront hotel! If you want a lot of square feet, go to downtown Charleston and pay big bucks.
The staff was GREAT. Special thanks to Tanya S., Shauna, and Reynaldo. When we changed rooms, we were able to move our stuff to an office behind the front desk (including stuff that went into the office fridge). When we got back from sightseeing, all our stuff was in our new room, including our cold beer in the fridge.They were very friendly and would do anything to help you. I'm not crazy about continental breakfasts, but my husband brought me great coffee every a.m. from the lobby. The beach is absolutely beautiful, and stretches for miles in either direction.
The parking is not a big deal. They have a reserved space close to the ground floor elevator to load luggage. If you can't get a space in their (small) parking garage, you have to walk 2 minutes to a lot. If you go, you will see that parking is at a premium. $5.00/day is very reasonable.
It's about 20-25 minutes to downtown Charleston. It's easy to get around major highways, and we brought our own GPS.
This place is clean. It's not perfectly clean in some areas because it's a beach hotel- you are going to get sand tracked on carpets, etc.
We loved our stay and would recommend the Seaside Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! Your description of our customer service is very accurate; we really will do anything within our power to help our guests! It is the common goal of our staff to make your stay comfortable, convenient and most of all, memorable. We hope you will return to Seaside Inn soon! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Definitely would go back. Compared to the typical non chain hotels that are beachfront this was very nice. Reason: comfortable beds, renovated bathrooms, clean and friendly. They have a continental breakfast that my daughter loved ( fruit loops) and that I could get coffee at early in the morning and sit on the public deck to stare at the beach. We went mid June and the water was warm. Would give 5 stars for the this type of family hotel except that high season prices were a little high and on weekends the bar next door is a little loud.

Room Tip: We had a non oceanfront from due to high seasonal rates. But there are public areas to view the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate your review! We are very pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you will return soon! Don't forget to check our Facebook page and our website for great offers and specials on room rates! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the Oceanfront room. The view was great. The staff was very professional, the best customer service I have experienced in years. Friendly ,accommodating and pleasant. We checked in on wed. We planned on staying for just a night but we were able to upgrade to the Oceanfront room. Great room. We ended up staying three more additional nights. The staff was excellent. Very kind, helpful and friendly. Tanya and Shawna were exceptionally helpful and accommodating. This was our first visit to Charleston. We plan on visiting again next month. The only flaws were the small rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Seaside Inn! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our excellent customer service! We are looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thank you Tanya Smalls for your help and professionalism! Our car keys were lost, she found them, then tracked them to us. She was awesome. We would not have been able to leave if it wasn't for her.. not that that would have been a bad thing. Thank you again! Location and service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Seaside Inn. We are happy to hear that our employee was able to provide you with excellent customer service. The Seaside Inn values our guests above all else and we feel this is but one great example of how we go the extra mile to keep our guests coming back time and again. We hope to see you soon and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

When we checked in the staff was nice. We needed fresh towels and they responded in less than 5 minutes. That is about all the good I can say. We got stuck on the elevator--only momentarily but let me tell you, that was enough to scare my kids and I from riding again. Our rooms were dirty. I saw a spider crawling around on the table in the room(that was like a TV dinner tray that you would use to watch TV). The TV was SMALL--beyond small really and OLD. The vent in the bathroom did not work. The floor was pretty disgusting. The noise level from the bars around was pretty noisy but at least it did not go late into the night plus we always use a noise machine when we travel. The pool is more like a hot tub and a half. The continental breakfast was pretty anemic. I guess as long as you don't spend much time in the room(we had thought to add another day on to our trip but once we saw the room we just decided to go home instead) you will be ok. It is right on the beach. Oh the parking was an issue. We had to park a little ways away from the hotel which was annoying considering all the stuff we had in tow for the beach. We had two queen beds and they were crammed into the room. For bathroom amenities we got two small bars of soap and a small bottle of conditioning shampoo. If I had known it would be so puny I would have brought stuff from home but for $200 a night I expected better.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are a better choice--they have a nice balcony but of course are more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed our customer service. Most guests find our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and our complimentary breakfast to be a delicious and cost effective way to start their morning. We have three convenient options for parking, and right in front of our hotel, we have a loading and unloading zone where most guests park to check in and take their luggage to their room. We take all reviews very seriously and will certainly take yours into consideration, as we continually strive to improve for our valued guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed with my family (four) for two days over the Memorial Day Weekend.Property was very good - location was excellent and the beach is fantastic. Staff at the hotel were extremely nice. The pool is more of a plunge pool in size and we actually never went in once, having the beach in which to swim. I found that the restaraunt choices were limited, so a stay of longer than two or three nights might get tedious if you like home cooking. The rooms are expensive, however, you pay for location. Don't expect an Ocean View, the property runs perpendicular to the beach so the majority of the rooms face a building (left or right). You obviously can see the Ocean once you exit your room but, again, manage your expectation and this is not a problem. It seems to be consistent with most properties on the beach that are built this way, unless you are in a home/condo.
All in all, we had an excellent stay, my girls (6 and 8) loved the beach and had a great time. Don't expect top end room facilities - the hotel is older and it shows. Not intended as a critical comment, just once again, manage your expectations.
Don't expect to park at the hotel directly - very few spots availble underneath the facility. Parking is across the street and they charge a nominal $5 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasideinniop, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Seaside Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our ideal location makes Seaside Inn a great option for families who want to experience all the great things Isle of Palms and the Charleston area have to offer. We hope you will return soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel
Seaside Hotel Isle Of Palms
Seaside Inn Isle Of Palms
Seaside Isle Of Palms
Seaside Inn Isle Of Palm Sc
Isle Of Palm Seaside Hotel
Address: 1004 Ocean Blvd., Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isle of Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaside Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.